Therapy

55 minutes of awkward stress.  We haven’t spoken in days.  Mark is still acting like a child.  Today, the therapist asked to speak to each of us separately.  In the end, it was decided that Mark is going to find somewhere else to stay for a while.  I was not part of this decision.

What the fuck happened?  One minute we were driving to a weekly therapy session and happy and the next we were in a giant fight??  Then 3 days later we’re separating??

I don’t know what to say.

9 Responses to “Therapy”


  1. 1 Jessica April 7, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Oh Babybound, I’m sorry. I’m a therapist and I see couples occasionally, and sometimes space is the best thing for a relationship. It allows each of you to heal. I know it sounds cheesy, but use the time to do fun things for yourself. As wives, we forget that we can and do function just fine by ourselves. Have a nice glass of red and feel better.

  2. 2 babysmiling April 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Maybe it would be easier to think of it as taking a break instead of separating. Separating makes me think that it’s the first step toward permanent dissolution, and it’s jumping the gun to say that’s what’s happening.

    I hope that after the break, both of you are in a better place to resolve this fight.

    Take care.

  3. 3 Orodemniades April 8, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I was all ‘okay, this isn’t unexpected’ blah blah blah, and then I realized which blog IZ was reading and went, “what?!?”.

    But, y’know, you’ve both been through so much and maybe you’re processing and digesting the fallout at different rates. It’s always easiest to hurt the ones you love.

    Beyond the hurt and confusion, what is your gut telling you?

  4. 4 Orodemniades April 8, 2009 at 4:15 am

    No, forget your gut, what do you absolutely know that you don;t want to admit to yourself?

  5. 5 mkwewer April 8, 2009 at 6:10 am

    Oh my god, I had no idea that you all were already in counseling…I am sorry, this sucks for you.

  6. 6 Amelie April 8, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I have been reading (lurking) you for a while and love your honest voice. I have stood in your shoes, and it sucks. And there are no easy answers. Grief and loss have a way of making little things big and big things ginormous. I am pulling for you.

  7. 7 Nina April 8, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I’m so sorry. I hope he grows up soon, and comes back home with roses and kneepads. (And the kneepads are not for you.) I’m a hopeless romantic. However, if not, then think Ivanna. Get it all, baby!

  8. 8 riceroni April 8, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Ugh. I love reading your blog but it sucks reading what I just read. I don’t know if this is stemming from infertility, but many couples going through infertility suffer from strain in their relationship. It’s a tough thing to go through. You don’t want to blame the other person but sometimes you secretly do and the whole thing causes tension. I’m really sorry. Hang in there.

  9. 9 Courtney April 8, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    F*ck. That s*cks. My fingers are crossed.


Leave a comment




I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

Archives