Day 2

Well?  He didn’t go.

When Mark got to NY he was driven straight to the rehab facility that we set up for him.  It was all “Intervention” on A&E style, but totally didn’t have the same ending.  There was no “…3 months later” footage to be had.  Mark did his initial evaluation and was told he needed to go to a 3 day detox.  I guess this silly 3 day detox was out of the question?  It’s truly amazing what the addicted mind can come up with isn’t it…

His parents then decided the best course of action was to take him to their house, accuse me of being insane, enable him with a new computer and all the creature comforts of home, and basically act as if the last 24 hours was just a silly prank.  I’ve since ceased convo with them.

What I find to be the most amazing though is that Mark’s goofball friends have transformed into a group of the most amazing people I have ever met.  He and his friends have known each other since childhood and the minute I called on them, they stepped up.  Boys that spend most of their time being too cool to confide in each other or have a conversation that doesn’t involve the words titties, boobies, gay, werd, or fart have spent the last few days writing letters of concern, calling each other to make plans for an intervention and working as a team to do what is necessary to get Mark into rehab.  These silly boys that I have never been able to take seriously about anything have shocked me.  When the time came, they really did step up.  They love him that much.

Mark’s friends didn’t have to do this.  They could have sat back (as I expected) and said “shit man.  let me know what happens”.  But no.  They didn’t.

I have always loved Mark’s friends.  I really would do anything for them.  I’d literally drop everything in my life for them just because I knew how important they were to Mark.  But now?  Wow.  I don’t even think I can express to them in words how much they mean to me.  They are saving his life.  Mark and I may be ending our relationship, but it doesn’t mean I want him to die.  I just know we can’t be together.  And I have so much appreciation for what his friends are willing to do.  Any one of them could call me up 20 years from now and I’d still drop everything for them.  (as long as I wasn’t doing something really awesome like labeling my cabinets or something).  These boys are by far the most impressive group of goofballs ever to grace this planet.  I only wish they knew that.

Things are still shitballs.  But I am taking huge comfort in knowing that Mark is truly one of the luckiest people I will ever meet.  He has managed to foster friendships stronger than most people will ever understand.  He may not know it, but I do.  And it feels so good to know that this type of friendship really does exist.

Stay tuned…

5 Responses to “Day 2”


  1. 1 LA Misses You September 14, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Holy shit and O M G!!

    Really, that is my first reaction.

    Then, I had a brief moment of being grateful that your problems -at this minute- are way worse than mine, so thanks for that.

    Next I started thinking about how fast this happened and how lucky you are to have gotten him away from you (time to change the locks, right?)

    And then I moved on to being jealous that you are such a good writer.

    And now I’m back to Holy Shit, I can’t believe how fucked up this is!!

    Boy I’m tired from typing on an iPhone. Plus, I need to never ever check my newsreader after midnight no matter how awake I feel.

    Take care, and I hope to catch you on IM.

  2. 2 mkwewer September 14, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Oh no. I’m so sorry. I’m just so sorry that you are going through this. I’m sending you lots of good thoughts from in NC with the knowledge that you are strong enough to survive and thrive from this. You will figure out where to go from here and you will be amazing…Kinda like a phoenix…if a phoenix were scared of clowns….

  3. 3 Alex September 14, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I’m glad you have a support system right now.

    As for Mark’s parents…their attitude right now might explain why he turned out this way. He doesn’t need them to be friends right now, he needs them to be parents. Just because he’s grown up(well not grown up but older) doesn’t mean they don’t need to step up. And them acting like that isn’t cool.

    Good luck…

  4. 4 Journeywoman September 14, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Wow. I’m sorry you’re going through this.

    I’m glad he has some great friends though.

  5. 5 g September 15, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Oh my. I am so sorry this rubbish has happened to you. What a rough, tough situation.

    g


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


