This has nothing to do with anything

As we all know, I have awesome hair.  Well, as strange as it may sound, I was actually asked to write up a step by step instructional piece on how I dry my hair today.  I know right?  That’s crazy.  I mean just cause I have the world’s best hair and can wear it either curly or straight doesn’t mean I actually have any authority to instruct others on how to replicate such perfection.  Right?

Well.  I did it anyway.

Enjoy:

Drying horribly thick and curly hair to perfection in 8 easy steps:

Step one;
Throw your head forward, sit on the edge of the shower (or toilet) and dry all your hair for like 2 or 3 minutes.  This is my way of warming up to the idea of the daunting task ahead AND a way to get my hair to be a bit fuller.

Step two:
Segment the hair – divide up the front half of your hair as you would if you were going to wear it ¾ up and clip it forward.  Its ok if you look retarded, this is temporary.

Step three:
Start with the back.  Use a very large roll brush to portion off sections.  Focus all the heat onto whatever section you are brushing.  Make sure to touch the dryer to it (with the extension piece only!  Don’t catch your hair on fire because there is no step for that here).  Try to follow the brush with the dryer like they do in the salon.  With half your hair on top of your head, it’s not as scary. Repeat on the other side.

Note: I find it easier to start with the bulk of the hair first and then go back and do the roots when the hair is dry.  It gets less tangled.

Step four:
Drop the top half and divide in the middle with your fingers.

Step 5:
Using the roll brush, start on one side in the front.  Roll the brush under your hair and pull up towards the dryer. (Pay attention the next time you’re at the salon and watch how they do it).   Continue doing this until all the hair on one side of your face is dry.  Then, switch to the other side.

Step 6:
Now, almost your whole head should be dry except the crown.  Its easier to grab onto the hair using the roll brush and flip it forward.  Then get that hairdryer underneath it and follow it forward like you did the hair around your face.

Step 7:
You are almost done.  (I know, but I said it was daunting)  Flip all your hair to one side.  You’ll notice that all the stuff underneath and in front is nice but the stuff in the back is kinda blgh.  Take the roll brush and run it vertically down the side of your head then twist it.  Now you can curl that under like the rest.  Do this everywhere.

Step 8:
Use a tiny amount of laminents drops, dirt (or even hand lotion!) mixed up in your hands and separate out the ends.  You’re done!  See that wasn’t so hard was it?  Now go lay down.  You just got a workout.

That’s sad isn’t it.

8 Responses to “This has nothing to do with anything”


  1. 1 christine June 15, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    I need pictures!!

  2. 2 Andie June 16, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I need pictures too. I have no idea how to style hair at all.

  3. 3 Heather June 16, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Pictures please, so we can ooh and aahh… 🙂

  4. 4 b June 16, 2009 at 11:56 am

    You are a huge dork. I wouldn’t have you any other way.

  5. 5 Kate June 18, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    pictures!

    What products do you use?

  6. 6 Jendeis June 25, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I gave you an award on my blog. http://sellcrazysomeplaceelse.blogspot.com/2009/06/honest-scrap.html

  7. 7 Cora July 13, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Where did you go??

  8. 8 Sara July 16, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Where are you? I am getting worried!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


