Mark must have caught the WWII

I got to bring Marky home today.  Turns out he had GANGRENE!  Who gets gangrene in 2009?!?  Wow when they say everything old is new again, they really do mean everything don’t they?

Mark is very lucky.  We caught it in time and he doesn’t have to have surgery, lose a hand, or die.  In fact, he is expected to have a full recovery.  If we had waited just one more day to go in however, this conversation would be having a very different tone to it.  One that included words like fuck, amputation, fuck, disability, fuck, he’s going to die, fuck and fuck.  O and fuck.  Oops, I forgot fuck.

I get to spend the next few weeks pretending that I am a nurse.  And for once, its not the kind in the cute little miniskirt and sexy red heels.  His wound has to be dressed twice a day and I have been certified in wound packing.  Its a quick course.  Takes only a few minutes, but I’m pretty sure it qualifies me for full time nurse status.  Good to have a backup career these days.

I’m so happy to have him home again.  That’s one down and one to go.  Grandpa still has a long way, but its a lot easier to focus on helping him when I don’t have to worry about Mark.  Mark is going to be fine now.  And the timing couldn’t be more perfect.  Those trash cans don’t take themselves out…

7 Responses to “Mark must have caught the WWII”


  1. 1 meg March 11, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    So glad Mark is home! Yay!

  2. 3 mkwewer March 12, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Wow, I am glad he is home and doing better…keep us posted. And really, you could get creative with playing nurse….

  3. 4 b March 12, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I agree with mkwewer. And why can’t you wear the sexy dress and red heels while you clean and pack that wound? Trust me, Mark WILL appreciate your efforts. In fact, you may not even have to ask him to take out the trash after your nursing “duties” are over!

  4. 5 Michelle March 15, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I am glad he is home and doing well and that you caught it in time. that is great news.

  5. 6 Sara March 16, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Long time stalker, but first time poster. God, that sounds like some crappy caller-speak from the radio. Anyway, when I read the title of this post, I thought it said “Mark must have caught the Wii”, which I thought was hysterical, and then I realized it actually said WWII. I figure that they both apply.

    I know what you mean about “he’s going to die, fuck, fuck”. Right after we got married my husband got a really rare form of hepatits that took a very long time to diagnose, meanwhile, he was on his deathbed in the hospital and I kept asking the doctors if he “came with a return policy since he was clearly defective merchandise”. I use humor at all times, no matter how inappropriate. At least the nurses laughed. BTW, he is fine now.

  6. 7 Andie March 20, 2009 at 12:04 am

    That’s great that Mark is home and will be okay 🙂


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


