A small update of absolutely nothing.

Of course I went.  I spent all day with my Grandpa yesterday.  He is still on life support and sedated, but seemed to be improving.  Its incredibly amazing how instantaneous our gauge of what is good vs. bad adjusts.  If I had said on Monday that my Grandpa can open one eye and move both feet, that would seem rather obvious?  But today, its absolutely fantastic.

Right now he’s still on life support.  We wont know if he’s going to make it or not until they can get him off that.  We’re waiting.  And as we all know, I. Hate. Waiting.

3 Responses to “A small update of absolutely nothing.”


  1. 1 iambrowneyedgirl March 6, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I’m so sorry about your grandpa. I hope he gets better soon. *hugs*

  2. 2 Alex March 6, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Hi. I came over from LFCA and am so sorry about your granddad.

    For whatever it’s worth — maybe not much — my dad had a stroke several years back that I think was quite “bad” and from which he recovered pretty much completely. What I remember of the early days is that (a) lots of really highly trained medical professionals will tell you that they “don’t know” how much your granddad will recover. The reason they do this is that they … don’t know. Apparently this is really hard to predict. Second, the experience of being in the hospital as a patient after surgery or any other stressful experience(s), particularly for an elderly person (my dad was 75) is itself phenomenally disorienting, so what looks like complete and permanent incoherence may just be … disorientation. Don’t read too much into the early days. That said, it’s difficult; take good care of yourself.

  3. 3 The Mother Hen March 6, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I’m glad there’s still hope.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


