Am I the only one left with a brain around here???

Ahhh sigh.  Just another day here in craptastic land.

My Grandfather had a massive stroke this morning.  He’s in surgery right now to drain the clot.  I have been told that he can no longer speak, but is in very good spirits and still has a sense of humor (which of course causes me to have visions of a mime performing his best to a crowd of ER onlookers.  And then of course causes me to look up for the strike of lightening that is inevitably shooting down towards me.)

I’m at a loss here.  This is brand new territory for me.  All of my Grandparents are still alive.  I saw 3 of them – including the mime – on Sunday.  I am not sure what I should do.  Do I go down there?  Do I wait for an update?  The surgery is suppose to take several hours.  My Mom told me to wait.  Nothing feels like the right thing to do.  And I kinda feel like I’m already in the hole for that mime thing.

I guess that is why I’m turning to my blog.  My somewhat private, but rather completely public in every way, stream of consciousness.  Tell me what to do, blog.  Tell me.  I’m scared.

10 Responses to “Am I the only one left with a brain around here???”


  1. 1 The Mother Hen March 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    From someone who didn’t get to say goodbye. I would go.

  2. 2 The Milk Maid March 3, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    From another somebody who didn’t get to say goodbye times 4 – GO! Even if he hangs out as a vag platter for a long time, you will feel better knowing you tried. So sorry kiddo!

  3. 3 The Milk Maid March 3, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    VEG- i mean VEG. OOhhhh….

  4. 4 The Mother Hen March 3, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Sorry to laugh but MM made me with the vag.

  5. 5 Angie March 3, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Go. Has your mom provided good advice in the past?!

    Go.

  6. 6 Courtney March 3, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I would go if I were you. I’m heading home tomorrow for my grandmother’s funeral- I didn’t get to say goodbye because she withered away from Alzheimer’s. God forbid he passes- don’t miss your chance. If he pulls through- think how happy he will be to see you? He might even pretend he’s trapped in an invisible box!

  7. 7 Andie March 3, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Go. Go go go GO.

    So sorry to hear.

  8. 8 mkwewer March 4, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Go. I regret not seeing my grandmother before she died. Go and have no regrets.

  9. 9 meg March 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Man I am sorry. I agree… go ahead and go.

  10. 10 Leslee March 5, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I hope that you and your family are doing okay… you all are in my thoughts.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


