For someone special. Or everyone?

Is anyone as disappointed in me as I am?  Where the hell have I been lately?  Why no posts?  I mean Jesus.  Its not like rocket science right?  I should be punished.  O wait, I don’t get children.  Right.

I had an interesting observation yesterday at the store.  I had to pick up a birthday card for my Grandpa.  His 82nd birthday was yesterday and we spent the day with him today stuffing our faces at a buffet, trying to beat our personal best on calorie intake, and then wondering the halls of an old people’s hospital retirement community.  I think I hit my fill of old people for at least a month.  My toes can’t really take anymore of those walker wheels.

OK my observation.  Anyone else ever notice that there are hardly any Grandpa birthday cards?  Like, there was literally one at the store I was at.  One card.  And it was a sappy one.  You all know me right?  Sap is something that comes out of a tree.

There was an entire section of Grandma cards.  It even had a header label at the top of the row that said “For Grandma”.  But the Grandpa card was buried amongst the “for everyone” “from a group” and “for someone special” ‘s of the world.  At the bottom.

I know woman live longer than men but this is kinda ridiculous.  That doesn’t mean there are none of them out there.  I have two!  Does this mean I have to buy my other Grandpa this very same card in 12 days on his birthday?  Crap.  They live in the same retirement community.   Will they all forget that they’ve heard all this sap before?  I mean it is 12 days from now.  That’s like a lifetime to the memory of a senior.  Maybe it will just sound “familiar”.  Which will feel “comforting”.  Its almost as if I have no other choice but to buy this card for the sheer snugly word hug aspect.

Would have been smart to buy two at once.  Maybe I need to pick up some smart while I’m there next time.  I hear there’s a sale on it.  Economy.

2 Responses to “For someone special. Or everyone?”


  1. 1 babysmiling March 1, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    It’s better at Father’s Day, but yeah, there are very few grandfather cards. There are more aunt cards sometimes! Plus, the grandfather cards often have very specific names (Grandpa, Pop-Pop) which render them useless for most.

    My solutions have been to buy a generic card or to plan ahead and stock up when I’m at a store with wider selection — though the grandfathers in my life are dwindling, and it is getting to be less and less of an issue.

    On a similar note, the “big” birthdays are oddly chosen. Lots of 21, 30, 40, 50, and 60. A couple of 70 and 80. A few 100. But when DH’s grandmother turned 90, I couldn’t find 90 anywhere. 90 is not monumental enough for you, greeting card people?

  2. 2 Heather March 2, 2009 at 1:00 am

    You’re so lucky…I haven’t had ANY grandfathers since I was eleven. One passed away when I was 8, and the other when I was 11. One grandmother left, on whom we dote as often as possible. 🙂 I hope those greeting card companies are listening!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


