BabyBound movie/life review.

Mark and I went to see Marley and Me this weekend.  I know its getting very mixed reviews and all, but I can’t help it.  I rather enjoyed watching my life on screen.  O?  You think I’m somehow projecting myself into a theatrical interpretation of someone else’s life like some sort of freak?  O fine.  Now I’m a freak!?!?

Let me just list off a few comparisons for you.  Sit down.  This is going to blow your mind.  (O but if you haven’t seen the movie or read the book STOP READING RIGHT HERE AND GO TO THE END OF THE NUMBERS)

  1. Marley ate the wall.  Sandy ate the wall, the floor board and threshold.
  2. Marley was “discounted”.  Sandy was also discounted – we were told it was because she was so “precious”.
  3. Marley ate Jenny’s necklace.  Sandy ate my diamond earring and Mark’s wedding band.
  4. Marley ate an answering machine and phone.  Sandy has eaten several remote controls, rocks, glass, medication and pennies – all of which seemed to have no effect on her.
  5. Marley failed out of obedience school.  Sandy also failed out of obedience school.
  6. Marley will jump into any body of water that he may be within 1/2 mile from.  Sandy once dug her own muddy body of water at the dog park just so she could play in what she thought was close enough to water.  None of the other dogs joined her of course because they were all sophisticated dog snobs with no sense of how much fun dark black mud is to get off a white dog.
  7. Jenny has a miscarriage at 10 weeks.  Not only does she have it at the same time as I did, she finds out the same way (at a routine US) and has a D&C as I did.
  8. When she gets home, Marley calmly puts his head on her lap while she sobs.  When I got home, Sandy layed down with me on the couch and didn’t leave my side for more than 5 hours while I lost my mind.
  9. John and Jenny are both in the same field.  Mark and I are both in the same field.
  10. Marley’s vet was on a first name basis with the family as she spent what was obviously a significant amount of time with them.  Sandy’s vet actually handed us a pamphlet on pet insurance when she was 1 and said “you guys should really look into this”.
  11. John and Jenny spent an estimated $37,580 replacing furniture, mailman uniforms, housewares, sweaters, plants, drywall, doors, and an entire restaurant’s table setup.  Mark and Kathy have rounded the $14,000 corner on sweaters, walls, electronics, towels, socks, metal detectors, couches, shoes, computer parts, jewelry, vet xrays, and replacing other people’s stuff.
  12. And last.  Everyone loves Marley even though he’s the worst dog in the world.  Sandy is also loved, and may be giving Marley a run for his money.

sandy_marley

I know what you’re thinking.  Kathy, you don’t have 3 children dum dum.  You haven’t ever had sex in Ireland.  Well, yes but embellishments are what keep Hollywood writers employed.  See?  Its my life.  I feel like I should have been consulted for this.  Perhaps a simple dedication at the end?  At least they made me look like Jennifer Aniston.  Thanks guys.

2 Responses to “BabyBound movie/life review.”


  1. 1 mkwewer December 29, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Yeah, how fun was that little scene…I didn’t read the book and I didn’t get to see the end of the movie because the theater caught fire (on Christmas Day, nope, not kidding). Email me how it ends…I have an idea that all does not work out for Marley…

  2. 2 HeartStrings January 5, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    ugh! the black mud and the realtor and your broken leg… me trying to hold sandy while you hosing then trying to go around the front of the house… ahhh… the days.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


