It only takes a question to turn someone from normal to scary

OK.  I think this might have been a first for me.  I had a bit of a you’re-a-fucking-loony-that-belongs-in-the-loony-bin-before-you-hurt-yourself-or-someone-else moment today.  Even for me, this one was out there.

I am in Denver right now.  Flew out here this morning for business.  On the plane, I sat next to a woman and her newborn baby.  This baby was so new, it couldn’t have been more than a month old (although out of pure fear that the crazy inside me might do something I dared not ask her).  So tiny.  So cuddly.  And smelled of baby powder and soap.

Now I know you think you know where I’m goin with this but you’re wrong.  I didn’t steel the baby.  Nor did I cry or get all weepy and sad.  I have no long drawn out blog barfing that I’m about to launch into.

While sitting next to this little sleeping package of poop, I had the strongest urge to ask this woman if I could hold her baby.  Not to take it.  Not to squeeze it or dream of having my own.  Not any of those things.  For some really strange reason my innards were pining just to hold this sleeping niblet.

Being the epitome of social etiquette that I am, I knew that asking a stranger to hold her brand new baby – even in a completely confined and well guarded experience known as a United Jet – was usually not tolerated.  So while this urge bubbled up inside me for 2.5 hours, I resisted.

Pretty strange huh?  Does this mean that I’ve actually found that little place deep inside myself that walks the line of crazy and sane?  Did I just battle it out with princess psycho and win?  I think I just did!

Let’s just not get that close to crazy ever again because there’s no telling if this battle is a 2 out of 3 type thing and I am too pretty for prison.

4 Responses to “It only takes a question to turn someone from normal to scary”


  1. 1 meg September 10, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    this is soo funny…i can totally relate…good for you, learning to surpress that uncontrolable urge is impressive!!.. me.. i would have asked…or talked the whole way there so that by the end she might have let me hold it…i don’t have the restraint you do..kudos

  2. 2 Angie September 10, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    You should have asked. I am a Denver-ite. We are all pretty nice, and should would have likely let you. I would have, and I know you are somewhat crazy. Just enough crazy to keep me coming back for more.

    Angie
    http://www.moresugarthanspice.com

  3. 3 The Milk Maid September 11, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Did BB just have a personal growth moment? Cause, that’s just so gross and adult-like I dont know if I can take it. 😀

  4. 4 Den September 12, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Holy crap-ola! This goes hand in hand with my grocery store story from last night! My stiff upper-lip turned all soft … it sucked!

    Anyway, I’m lovin’ your blog … you keep it real and the world sure as hell needs more people like that!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


