The meeting

OK.  I’ve been on vacation for a week.  aka, MIA.  I have SO much to catch up on, but first and for most, the meeting.

It was: interesting.  I met my mother there despite several attempts to learn my whereabouts with a pick up.  As I entered the building, she followed me in.  We actually showed up at the exact same time.  (although I heard her call my name from down the street and ignored her.  I had my ipod on so it was completely believable and kinda just made me feel good.)

The therapist was great.  Not too harsh.  Very “easy” on my mother who clearly wanted to come in swingin with “My daughter hates her family and its hopeless, poor me poor me help me help me and feel sorry for me.  O and tell her she’s stupid too”.  I can’t say the therapist bought it, but she also didn’t stop it.  I think she’s trying to get a feeling for the dynamics here.  She did take a lot of notes.

A lot of really stupid and fucking crazy random stuff was said.  It kind of went all over the place – which I think just solidified our need for intervention here.  If I was Dr. Headspinner, I’d have a big glass o vino while talking shit about these two wakos into my doctor tape recorder.  Mad props to her for not saying she had to wash her hair next Thursday.

So as it stands, we’re still giving doc the history.  Mine, the one full of facts, pictures, feelings and documentation.  My mother’s, rewritten to help make her crazy head look..well, less crazy.  I will be meeting with Dr. Headspinner one on one next Thursday followed by a one on one with my mother the next week and a vacation the week after that.  So all in all, there will be nothing new to report for a month.

I’m sure I’ll have plenty more to say.  I have a lot to process.  Starting with the fact that my mother cried almost the whole time and it only annoyed me.  I did not cry.  I plan on using my blog to process all this nonsense so stay tuned.  This might get better than “Flipping Out”.  Or.  Might not as that’s definitely a tall order.

4 Responses to “The meeting”


  1. 1 Orodemniades August 14, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I’m so glad you’ve got the chance to work things through – even with the possibility that nothing changes in your relationship.

  2. 2 b August 14, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I was so nervous for you all day. I bet that was extremely awkward. I’m glad you get a chance to say your piece alone next week with no interruptions. I’m sure that the therapist saw dollar signs in place of your heads as you were leaving. I’m proud of you, that was a big step and you handled it well.

  3. 3 The mother hen August 14, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I would just be so pissed that my parent was manipulating the situation, and therefore wasting my time. The parents are paying for this right?? So free therapy for you next week. Not bad.

  4. 4 rayandandi August 15, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Where, exactly, do you buy your big girl pants?

    The ones I have seem to give me a wedgie and don’t make me nearly the badass you are.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


