Operator, dial 1-800-crap-storm please

Dad called.  3.5 hours went by.  Lots of stuff was said.  No crying.  (Well, no crying on this side of the phone)

This was a very unexpected Sunday.  I had plans.  I had people waiting for me.  I’m important.  All that went out the window and it wasn’t at all what I wanted.  It was kind of like a car accident.  I didn’t at all want to be there, but I couldn’t bring myself to end it.  It was too interesting.

My father sounded rather devastated, yet, unchanged by the events over the past 365 days.  He was clearly sad, but still not listening.  I think I did a pretty good job of explaining my platform.  (and the press conference and talent competition was a nice touch)  I didn’t get overly emotional.  I didn’t act childish.  I basically just said the same things I’ve been saying.  I mean if ya can’t get them to listen, just repeat yourself until the insanity sets in right?  Wait a week and I might be drooling and pacing if his ears don’t open up.

After 3.5 hours, it ended.  Nothing was really accomplished, but he did say a lot of stuff.  It was the first time he’d said he was sorry.  He finally said he knew they had done some things wrong.  We’ll have to work up to him actually believing that though.  He said the ball was in my court from here on out – his very childish manly way of saying “no you call first”.

So no fun with friends.  No happy Sunday afternoon.  I’m exhausted, but I recovered by eating almost a dozen cookies.  All wasn’t lost.

3 Responses to “Operator, dial 1-800-crap-storm please”


  1. 1 NoticeThings August 4, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    That must have really sucked for your friend. But hopefully she is super understanding and supportive of you and your wonky family situation. Man – you are really lucky to have that friend. I bet she is skinny too!

  2. 2 b August 5, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Would this skinny friend be able to fit into a servers outfit for my wedding? : ) I KID, I KID!!!! I know it must have been painful to speak to him, but i’m proud of you for standing your ground without becoming too emotional. I just have to say it….YOU GO…..GIRL!

  3. 3 Emily August 7, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Wow – you sound so strong when you talk about where you are with it all and it sounds like he is finally starting to wake up. Good for you!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


