Apparently I’m a fantastic stripper

Just call me Pinky Enamel Sunset. Er. Or Don’t.

See, the thing is, we have this awesome fireplace in our awesome new house that is probably 70 years old and has NEVER been used which is pretty awesome. Awesome.

The fireplace surround has clearly been painted over for each trend of the decades and just out of pure curiosity, I really wanted to see what was under all that 50’s pink, 60’s orange, 70’s green, and 80’s mauve. Well, not so much my curiosity rather it was my Perfect Aunt who planted that little number into my brain. And as we all know, plant something in BabyBound’s head and you’re bound to get some sort of anal retentive, neurotic mess of an obsession to follow.  Cue the odd head shaking and the brain full of running hamsters please.

So for shiggles, I stripped it this weekend.  And just cause I know you want to ask, no.  I did not take it to dinner first.

Jesus. Anyone strip paint before? While its a fucking butt load of work that can easily cause you to wake up the next morning with the claw for hands, its pretty much as fun as peeling dead skin of a sunburn. Really. Its that fun.

What did I find? Was it some historical marble tiles? Gold flecked mirror? Intricately carved artwork? Ancient Indian cave carvings?!?!?!  No.  I found plaster.  White.  Plaster.

Well, so maybe my stripping adventures didn’t turn out fruitful.  Yeah, and maybe the conversation that followed sounded a lot like “what color should we paint it now”, but whatever.  Its not every day that you can wake up the next morning and beg for a hand massage by whining about the claw.  I say mission accomplished.

2 Responses to “Apparently I’m a fantastic stripper”


  1. 1 b July 21, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I think you should just walk around with the claw intact. Great conversation starter.

  2. 2 Emily July 21, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Uggg. Reminds me of the time I stripped our 1930’s fireplace because I was sure I was going to find it beautiful black underneath the white paint. 3 weekends and about a bazillion dead braincells later I uncovered a horrific rust covered silver colour. I feel your pain lady!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


