Thoughts…

Just a couple of observations:

1. Its pretty odd to me that on the 4th day of July, every single year, our brains somehow take a day off. For some reason, there is nothing in our heads that tells us to not run in the direction of the extremely loud explosions. In fact, at the first sound of them, we jump up and go running to find them. Find explosions. Like bomb like explosions. Millions of people all running to the explosion. No fear around. No panic. Wha? This makes no sense to me and I’d really like my brain to put in for time off and get it approved before assuming I’m up for it.

2. Isn’t it just a little bit strange that people are willing to pay sometimes up to 10+ times the price for an object because it claims to be an antique, but you can buy a better, newer, stronger, CLEANER version at the store down the street for a 10th of the price? Why is this? I’m not discounting all antiques. There are plenty of objects that have great value and amazing history and ya simply can’t find stuff like it anymore. But common people, a big, clear glass jar? Not a fancy art jar. Not a jar that held the remains of an ancient Indian burial ground. Just a big jar. For $700. Really? Really.

3. Why is it that whenever I really want something that seems like I have seen them all over the place, it either doesn’t really exist or becomes so rare I’d have to pay a fortune for it? Example? I really want to buy a console for our entryway that has 1 drawer and a 2 door cabinet under that. Simple. I want something that is beat up and old because I want to paint it and distress it to make it interesting. Everything else in our house is clean lined and newer so this is suppose to be my conversation starter. Why can’t I find it? I mean this sounds like the simplest little piece. I feel like I’ve seen at least 3,504,356,339 of them in my lifetime. I can practically smell the wood. So why the hell is this so hard to find? Only when ya want something does the universe decide to play hide and seek. Listen uni, I’m kinda not in the mood. Just come out and tell me where it is. Please?

4 Responses to “Thoughts…”


  1. 1 NoticeThings July 7, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Maybe god thinks you talk too much so he/she is hiding the “conversation starting cabinet” from you. I don’t know that for sure though… just a guess.

  2. 2 b July 8, 2008 at 9:48 am

    I’d take it as a sign that the cabinet was a bad idea. Just scratch the idea all together, and take yourself and a friend to a fabulous lunch with the money you would have spent.

  3. 3 Linda S. July 9, 2008 at 8:49 am

    LOL… I love this post! My sentiments exactly..

  4. 4 meg July 10, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    🙂 you always crack me up.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


