Hmm

Dr. Baby Maker update is as follows:

Loved new doc.  She definitely did her homework in school and probably raised her hand every time.  She was smart, on top of it and definitely likable.  I got a good feeling with her.  I asked questions.  She answered.  She asked questions.  I answered.  We did each other’s hair and makeup, planned a slumber party and giggled.  And then we were done.  All in all, good.

What did I learn?  Well.  She recommends another round of IVF and felt that because of my history, age and past pregnancies, I have good odds for success with some tweaks to the cycle.  She wanted to monitor my follicle growth slightly differently and switch up a few drugs.  Probably wanted to pass my chart around the office just to show her crew that people like me really do exist.  We were definitely on the road to becoming bff’s until the topic of payment came up.  I don’t really know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t anywhere close to the random grouping of numbers she decided to throw my direction that land us in the range of selling kidneys and err…our first born?  Eeek (that’s for you B).

We can’t do it.  We just bought a house and gutted it.  I mean we could do half of it.  Perhaps start out with just getting a head and build up to the rest of the body at a later date….like after the diaper stage.  But for now, we’re going to have to continue waiting.  I’m not even close to happy about this.  I’m super bummed.  I mean I know I wasn’t ready yesterday, and I’m kinda not ready today to be back in the land of hormonal outbreaks and baby killing, but I know that deep down inside I’m ready always.  And to wait?  Waiting sucks.

So rather than hang with my new bff Dr. Baby Maker this summer, I’m stuck signing her yearbook with notions of having a great summer and never changing.  Fuck.

10 Responses to “Hmm”


  1. 1 Emily May 28, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I don’t know what to say. I’m so so incredibly sorry that that it went this way. Waiting sucks some serious ass…

  2. 2 geohde May 28, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Crap. I’m so sorry.

    J

  3. 3 meg May 29, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Yuck I am so sorry. The price of IVF isn’t fun….that is for sure.

  4. 4 Deena May 29, 2008 at 11:28 am

    If it’s not one thing, it’s another. Can you trade the house for the kid? (I kid, I kid.)

    You never know what’s on the horizon. You’re a smart girl. I know you can figure out a plan to make this happen.

  5. 5 b May 29, 2008 at 11:54 am

    How dare she ask you for so much money! (for you)

    This will all work out, even if you have to work at Starbucks in the mornings to make the extra dough! : )

  6. 6 The Milk Maid May 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Ug.

    I’ll help you sell carnations by the freeway… or blackmail people. I’m very resourceful 🙂

  7. 7 anne nahm May 29, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Sorry to hear it. Wish I could think up a good sign you could hold up, like, “IVF holding my babies hostage. Want ransom of X bucks. Please give” or something.

  8. 8 mycowgirlalterego May 29, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Babies love Kias. That’s all I’m saying.

  9. 9 Emily May 29, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    So sorry. Totally sucks to be in the waiting game.

  10. 10 singletracey May 30, 2008 at 9:55 am

    UGH.. I know how you feel. I think this calls for some meeting up and drinks and chips and salsa… what da ya say?


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


