Mother’s Day 08′

OK. Mother’s Day. I skipped it.

This year was a double whammy for me. With no baby to be a mother to and no mother to be a baby to. I got hit with the one, two punch and I gotta tell ya, not loving it. All in all, it was a normal day with an underlying feeling of sadness that I did my best to surpress with Pino. (By my best, I mean I only cried a little bit.)

Mark had to work most of the day so I was pretty much alone all day in the fun zone that is our torn apart house. You know, not at all unbearable for lil ol OCD me. Can you sense my sarcasm here?  Can you?  Apparently Sandy & Monster sent Mark out to pick me up some flowers. What? They don’t have 2 legs? Jesus, I believe they each of 4! No card, but at least it was something.

I don’t really think Mark understands how hard this Mother’s Day was for me. I can’t really expect him to being that he’s missing his uterus and all. I thought about Ashley all day. How I was suppose to be spending this – my first real Mother’s day – with her. I called my Grandmother to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day and her response was:

“O thank you dear. Happy Mother’s Day to you too, although you’re not a mother so it doesn’t really count.”

Ouch.

I love her a lot, and she has no idea how hard that was to hear. But yeah. Pretty much hit the nail on the head with that one. And by nail, I mean rusty old bent one. And by head I mean, right between the eyes and deep into my skull. I’m basically dead now.

3 Responses to “Mother’s Day 08′”


  1. 1 b May 12, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Ouch! Grandmas..gotta love em. I thought I did a fine job keeping you occupied yesterday thankyouverymuch! I know it was hard, but we all got through it. Next year let’s just decide to have a baby to hold on Mothers Day, shall we?

  2. 2 Emily May 12, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Wow that really sucks! My grandma has about the same level of giftedness when it comes to inserting foot in mouth. Here’s hoping next mother’s day you’ve got loads to celebrate!

  3. 3 The Milk Maid May 12, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    What is it with our families and the KINDNESS gene?

    We can’t change the past, but I garantee that next mother’s day will be much better- I have all the faith and confidence in the world in you and your ute. 🙂


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


