“We’ll leave the light on for ya” does have its limits.

Is it really too much to ask that when family wants to come for a visit that they stick to the visiting people: 101 rules of a week or less? And even better, that a couple come together not one-at-a-fucking-time??  I mean really is that too much??

I have spent that last 2 weeks in utter fucking hell in a handbasket coping with my FIL and now the word on the streets is that my MIL is on her way out here next week – after we move into our new house – for a flippin MONTH.  Anyone have their abacus out?  No?  Well then I’ll break it down for you.  That is 6 never-get-them-back weeks of in-laws.  6 weeks of no sex.  6 weeks of being told what to do, how to do it, that I’m not doing it right and everything is my fault because I did it wrong.  6 weeks of awkward silence.  Random stupid TV that isn’t at all what I want to watch (No Hills?  Fuck).  Having my house smell like old other people.  No Mexican food (they don’t “like” it).  Making sure we have a fridge stocked with all the processed food they like.

Don’t get the wrong idea.  I don’t completely hate my in-laws.  In fact, they are fine.  But they are weird extremely different then me and clearly have absolutely no sense of what the words “we don’t want to impose” mean.  I absolutely love guests.  I love entertaining.  But 6 weeks doesn’t work for me.  1 week = perfect length of time for anyone coming to visit.  6 weeks = WTF??

Am I a bitch?  Should I be going to hell right now?  Wait…can I go to hell right now?  I hear my in-laws wont be there for at least 6 fucking weeks.  Sigh

6 Responses to ““We’ll leave the light on for ya” does have its limits.”


  1. 1 geohde April 22, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Good luck with the extended in-law visit.

    Even if it is a long time, it has a definite end. That helps.

    J

  2. 2 meg April 22, 2008 at 7:46 am

    6 weeks is awhile! Good luck.

  3. 3 b April 22, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Holy shit! Yeah, you’re definitely going to hell…but I hear that your MIL changed her flight plans and is coming to hell to support you during your difficult time there. Sorry bout that.

  4. 4 HeartStrings April 23, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    it really makes you wonder if it’s just too rude to just get the mil a hotel room… you know, explaining it’s merely “for her comfort”

  5. 5 Deena April 24, 2008 at 10:01 am

    OK, at least your MIL doesn’t live next door to you…

    Six weeks is a REALLY LONG TIME. You probably need to remove all the knives from your house so everyone stays safe. (At least that’s what I would need to do…)

  6. 6 Ahuva Batya April 24, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    You can’t go to hell, don’t worry. Because it sounds like you already are in it. Poor dear! I hope the time passes quickly.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


