Holidays MY way.

So here’s the scoop:

A few weeks ago I had a fun lil email exchange with bad Dad followed by some shunning and cold shoulderness.  Typical bad parent behavior at its finest.

As history has shown, they sure do love a great interruption of anything celebratory with a quick note, a strange phone message, or a $5 flower arrangement.  Just enough contact to piss me off and have me saying wha?

Not this time buddy.  Not.  This.  Time.  This time, I took control.  How?  Well I decided to beat them to it.  I emailed them.

I’m not going to bore the hell out of the whole internet with my petty list post the email, but to sum it up for you, it was nothing more then a well organized, LONG, itemized list of all the reasons that I made the decision to distance myself from them 6 months ago.  It wasn’t overly emotional.  It was harsh, but fair.

It really did feel like it was time to spell it out for them.  In my overly romanticized expectations, I had hoped that they would figure it all out on their own, but clearly I was reaching.  Can’t expect monkeys to get deep, folks.  I mean they do smell their farts and pick their noses.   (Holy crap.  Did I just call my parents monkeys?  Well yes I guess I did.)

I sent this lovely list on Friday.  It has felt really good to get all that stuff off my chest.  I haven’t heard a peep (ha!  peep on Easter ha!) from them since, and I don’t expect to for a while.  I mean it surely will take quite a bit of time and effort to spin every single item on my list into being my fault.  There were like 50 or more things!!

But in the meantime, I get to enjoy the first holiday since the big breakup without any crazy antics from bad family.  How great is that.  Happy Easter everyone!!

10 Responses to “Holidays MY way.”


  1. 1 dayzofrain March 23, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    YAY for you! Have a great day and enjoy peace to the max 😀

  2. 2 Ahuva Batya March 23, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I’m glad you took the first step instead of waiting for the next troubling gesture from them, and stood up for yourself.

  3. 3 meg March 23, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Enjoy the peace and quiet!

  4. 4 Heidi March 23, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Good for you! I once did a very similar thing, and it really helped my parents grow up a bit.

    May you have a peaceful and Happy Easter!

  5. 5 b March 23, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Hoppy Easter! I hope that you had a lovely day, and expect a full report later.

  6. 7 HeartStrings March 24, 2008 at 10:16 am

    i’m sure you feel a great amount of relief. its a weight off your shoulders.

  7. 8 mycowgirlalterego March 24, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I say yay too. I think it’s great to get it all out in the open and let it go from there. I hope it was peaceful!

  8. 9 milkmaid79 March 24, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Happy (late) Easter!

    Your parents need a visit from the Ether Bunny- hehehe!

  9. 10 singletracey March 24, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Good For You! Hope you had a great day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


