These aint those little plastic eggs

Hey. Did anyone know that Sunday was Easter? O you all did? Huh. I must have missed that memo. How is that possible with all of my organizedness and labels?? Someone is clearly fired.

This Easter is kind of reminding me of a funny lil story. When I was in high school, my mother was a nurse for a very well known RE in Los Angeles. This RE just so happens to be my RE currently, but that has nothing to do with this story. It wasn’t so unusual for us to have dinner chit chat about some stranger’s sperm count or random celebrity’s “secret surrogate”. As an adult – and life long member of the infertal woman’s suck it club .i.. – these conversations seem commonplace. As a teenager, this was mortifying and life ending embarrassment. Really.

It was the Easter Sunday of my freshmen year of high school. Everyone was at our house for Easter brunch. The food was lavishly spread on the sideboard, the candy was raining from the ceilings, the wine was most certainly flowing as a gigantic waterfall from the heavens, and all was…well…Eastery.

My mother shot up from the table halfway through the meal and shouted out “Sorry guys, I have to go to an egg hunt at work. Pray for us to find a lot of them! Be back…” While we all understood what she meant, it was particularly random for the host of this lovely drunken family calamity celebration to just up and leave. WTF man? W. T. F??

Anyway, that story really has pretty much no added value to your life. In fact, its a pretty useless waste of 1,227 letters. O well. Its just what I think of when I think of Easter. Anyone out there doin an egg hunt on Sunday? Dude, my mom is totally ready for you.

4 Responses to “These aint those little plastic eggs”


  1. 1 Emily March 20, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Ha! That’s actually a pretty funny story! Thanks for the laughs today.

    Oh … and I wanna hear more of these celebrity surrogacies!!

  2. 2 puppyroar5 March 20, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Egg hunt, my house, 10 a.m., wear your Sunday finest. Lunch will be served on Muppet plates.

  3. 3 mycowgirlalterego March 20, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I think she means wear jeans and byob. She will have chocolate, you can bet your a&& on that!

  4. 4 milkmaid79 March 20, 2008 at 11:08 am

    All I could think of was your mother dressed as sperm hunting an egg- I’m so f-ed up, like- seariously!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


