A day for celebration

Betcha thought I was talkin St. Paty’s didn’t ya? Nope. Since when has this blog been about anything but me?? You underestimate me.

Today marks the one year anniversary of our big giant move to San Francisco. That’s right, folks. We took the big plunge and moved far away from our comfort zone exactly 365 days ago. Why the hell did we do that? Let me break it down for ya:

Kathy: “I’m sick of living in LA. Let’s move.”

Mark: “OK where? I’m not moving to the snow, or the south or the middle.” (No really. This was what I had to work with here)

Kathy: “What about Denver? Its beautiful there.”

Mark: “Does it snow in Denver? (said in a lovely shade of condescending.)

Kathy: (nods, knowing it only meets 1 of the 3 requirements) “Yes but its not cold snow. Its dry snow.” (Just let me have this one ok?)

Mark: “Snow = cold. Cold = sucks. Sucks = the rest of your day if we continue to talk about snow not being cold”

OK. I might be paraphrasing. Whatev.

We settled on Seattle or San Francisco. Raced to find jobs. Got offers. Modified the rules of the race to detail out that we were looking for good jobs. Mark landed one in SF. And here we are. End of the story? Perhaps its the beginning. I’ll leave that one for you to decide.

Its hard to believe we’ve lived here an entire year. A lot has happened – I’ve killed children, Mark ran away from home, we bought a house, aborted my family – all in a days work I guess.

We’re not quite where I thought we’d be by now. No kids in tow. Not living comfortably in our house that we bought months and months ago. Not surrounded by my family in the whole new level of closeness that I expected with a big move closer to them. Nope. None of that.

But I am happy to announce that we have overcome our fear of driving in the city. We’ve learned every district and main street and can’t get lost. We know where the good Mexican food is, the best dog parks, which streets are too hilly to walk, how to cross Market (trust me, this is a huge deal), the difference between BART and MUNI, where to get good flowers, cheese, cupcakes, meat, coffee, breakfast, produce, where the cheapest gas is, which lanes you can/ can’t drive in, what the hell the trolley lane is, where the best hospitals are, where the cool people live, where the scary people live, what pee smells like when mixed with car oil in the middle of the street, that human beings really can smell worse then death – and not be homeless, where the good parking is, which neighborhoods are the foggy ones, how to avoid parking tickets, the back roads to get around parades, and the best thing of all, we learned that we love it here.

Thanks for havin us, San Francisco. Think we’ll stick around for a bit.

O. Happy St. Patties too.

9 Responses to “A day for celebration”


  1. 1 b March 17, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Happy anniversary! I’m sure they’re glad to have you guys.

  2. 2 geohde March 18, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Glad you settled in, makes me recoil at the sheer work involved in upping sticks that completely!

    J

  3. 3 Kristin March 18, 2008 at 6:23 am

    It hurts my heart everytime you say something like “I’ve killed children”. It actually makes me tear up. Please try to think of it differently. Many people are going through (or have gone through) fertility issues like you are. I have and it sucked, big time.
    The weeks turn to months, then years and it still sucks. You are not alone. Please try to find positive things to help you through this struggle.

  4. 4 singletracey March 18, 2008 at 8:35 am

    OMG.. Market Street! GOOD NIGHT.. My first time driving on that road … CURSE WORDS and TEARS baby!!

    SF is a fabulous city! Glad you like it 🙂

  5. 5 mycowgirlalterego March 18, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Happy SF-aversary!!! I for one am so glad that you moved… when I visit, I’d much rather hit up SF than LA!

    When will my bathroom be ready?

  6. 6 meg March 18, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I am glad you like San Fran… I know I did when I visited years ago….

  7. 7 puppyroar5 March 18, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I disagree. When Kat says “I killed children” I know that she has found her own way of dealing with the loss of Ashley. Each person is different, some of us deal with our grief with our morbid senses of humor. It doesn’t make it wrong..just right for us. I think you meant well poster, but I think Kat is doing what is right for Kat…and that she’s doing just fine.

  8. 8 puppyroar5 March 18, 2008 at 11:00 am

    P.S.

    .i..

  9. 9 The mother hen March 18, 2008 at 11:40 am

    I love San Francisco. It is one of my favorite cities. I love that I can walk just about anywhere.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


