Does anyone else have this problem?

When standing behind 4 police officers today at lunch, panic rained down on me.  Not because of any sort of guilt about my baby murders.  Not because I was worried about getting caught for something (although crap I think I owe money for an outstanding parking ticket).  Not because they have loaded weapons and could shoot me if they felt I was looking at them strangely – which I was.

No.  None of those things.

I was in complete panic because I imagined myself sneaking behind one of them and grabbing their gun, just to see if I could do it.  Not to hurt anyone.  Just wanted to test that special civilian/officer of the law personal space thing.  And then of course the other officers would shoot me down.   End of BabyBound.

I paniced.  I thought they could hear my thoughts.  Were they all getting ready to draw their weapons on me?  Were they anticipating my next move?  Could they hear me talking myself out of it?  Crap I don’t know.  I just had to get the heck out of there!

Does anyone else have to tell themselves:  “BabyBound, do not grab the young man’s gun.  It belongs to him.”??

6 Responses to “Does anyone else have this problem?”


  1. 1 b March 6, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I almost never refer to myself as babybound….ALMOST never. Girl, I think you need a vacation..yeah..just a little one.

  2. 2 tr.darling March 6, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    the sad and crazy thing is that i completely understand – not only b/c i would think those same thoughts but also b/c i know you too well. hahahaha… love ya!

  3. 3 The mother hen March 6, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I find myself slightly panicky around police too. Not because I am thinking of taking their guns, but what if I do something ordinary that they think is dangerous or aggressive? Would they shoot me? I find myself staying very far away from them when I see them in public.

  4. 4 Emily March 6, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    LOL! Babybound should NOT be grabbing any officers’ weapons except maybe for Mark’s. And maybe any other celebrity you might fancy. 😛

    My paranoia with police officers comes with making sure I turn down the volume of my car stereo whenever I spot a police cruiser. I think it’s the thought that I might get pulled over for playing my music too loud.

    Yeah … I’m weird.

  5. 5 anne nahm March 7, 2008 at 8:36 am

    One time I was in the back seat of a jeep and my father-in-law got picked up for speeding. The young cop was so pissed at FIL that he didn’t even notice me sitting back there while he reamed FIL a new one. I kept thinking, ‘boy, if I had a gun back here, I could have popped you before you knew what hit you.’

    I still get smug thinking about it. Wrong, Anne. So wrong.

  6. 6 geohde March 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    No to the gun thing.

    But I think I always look guilty.

    J


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


