The buck becomes a star

OK I gotta give mad props to the buck this morning.  As an addict of the liquid gold found in a cup of joe, I spend a great deal of time at Starbucks.  Naturally this means I have developed a certain re-pore and feel as though I am somewhat of a “V.I.P”.  I realize that this puts me in a separate category of the population – one with rights to completely accept nothing less then perfection – so when it comes to my morning latte, I expect perfection with a smile.  (O and yeah, sometimes I really am this bitchy without it.)

This morning was no different.  We all know that Starbucks shut down for 3 hours yesterday.  A hiccup in the production of supplying the nation with their drug of choice that had some people buzzing with panic. Get it?  Buzzing?  Ha!

Not me.  I was ok with this shut down because frankly, it was to improve their service to ME.  Anything that helps me get a better espresso shot works for me.

While at first, this whole thing seemed like a giant ploy for news attention (something that impresses me wildly as a marketing professional), I am proud of Starbucks for taking this drastic measure.  They want to focus on coffee.  And service.  And…well people.  This morning the buck was packed.  Everyone was being greeted, the employees were very obviously changed.  There was valiant effort being made to actually remember the names of people they see daily, including yours truly, Miss BabyBound.  Thank you’s were flying as fast as the steam.  Genuine gratitude was rampant in the air.  It truly was a different experience today and it has really put a bigger hop in my get along.

You go, Starbucks.  Good for you.  Sometimes drastic measures need to be taken to show that you are serious about what you do.   I, for one, am in full support of your new found attitude.  Keep it up and you will have one very happy (and loyal) addict customer.

2 Responses to “The buck becomes a star”


  1. 1 b February 27, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    That’s funny. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I wondered if their little attention getter would really produce results.

  2. 2 aradia February 29, 2008 at 6:30 am

    My buckstars are still morons… Maybe I should move to a city. Any city 😐


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


