A parental update in templated form

My Dad emailed me today.  First contact in months.

Your isolation has caused so much pain…
Please call us.

Dad

Could this form letter be a little more clinical please?  I’m just feeling like there is far too much emotion here.  Its making me uncomfortable.   Caused so much pain?  To who?  Everyone in the world?  Are you feeling pain from me?  Wow.  Who knew all this rant blogging I read was caused by me.  That is some powerful crap I tell ya.  Pow er ful.

This hurts.  No reach out for months.  No emotion.  No acknowledging of my decisions.  No caring.  Then the form letter.

Its not much of an update, but well, its all I got.  Five months and this is as far as we’ve come.  I know I need to respond.  I know it needs to be as chuck full of emotions as this lovely little outpouring.  I mean geez.  Grow some will ya?  Stop your crying.  Its like you’re out of control there.

For now, I need to go back to my isolation chamber to hang with my buddies, Michael Jackson and Larry Flint.  Its steak night.

7 Responses to “A parental update in templated form”


  1. 1 dayzofrain February 12, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I think a memo went out for all the crap-tastic parental figures to contact those who wish for it the least.

    UGH… read my newest entry and you’ll understand.

    Maybe we can stick them all on a little island in the pacific and they can keep eachother busy?

  2. 2 katarinajellybeana February 12, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Enjoy the steak, but keep flint to just a martini or two…he gets “handsy” after that.

    (on a very side note…note from Dad sucks…so sorry)

  3. 3 bellybuttonlinttrap February 12, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Parents can suck, especially when they have no idea that they suck! I can totally relate (at least partially) to the whole favoritism-sister thing. My mom and my sister and so close and leave me so excluded that my father, who at least is aware, tries his best to make up for it, and that somehow makes it worse.

    My only suggestion is that if you feel like you need to respond, write down exactly what you want to say. I always think a scripted conversation goes much better…and have a good reason to get off the phone…or just hang up on them if they are being more obnoxious than usual.

    BTW, I totally love your blog and I get your sense of humor. You remind me of some of my friends…uh, IRL ones, not Muppets.

  4. 4 b February 12, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Dude, his note was like emotional diarrhea! Once he gets started, there’s no stopping this guy. You know what I think you should do..I voiced my OpinIon. They’re trying to break you, don’t let them.

  5. 5 Orodemniades February 12, 2008 at 10:23 am

    My favorite part is how it’s all about them. They’re in so much pain…no acknowledgement of how *you* might be feeling, no!

    I wish I had some sort of positive advice for you, but really, what’s going through my head is ‘bastards!’. Sorry.

  6. 6 aradia February 12, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Bleh- Are you sure we aren’t related?

  7. 7 meg February 13, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Sigh…. did you respond?


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


