A birthday filled with nothing and everything

This post has been a week in the making.  Well, not really.  But I have owed you all an update on the birthday decision of 2008 for at least that long.  Sorry for the delay, it was B’s fault if anyone’s interested in finger pointing.  I want everyone to know that I appreciated and valued your suggestions and opinions on the matter and have taken great care in pondering each and every one.  Well, almost every one.  Clowns were simply never an option.

While I’m still rather bitter about my husband leaving me on my Birthday, I do agree with most of you in that two wrongs simply don’t make a right and a modest recognition is suitable.  Sans clown.  (sorry I’m still not over that one)

So here is what I have planned.

I have made a reservation for dinner for two at a restaurant that I love, and Mark has yet to try but I know he will love as well.  We are planning to go there early so that we can catch a movie after.  I am giving him a card (crap…go buy card at lunch) and we will order dessert.  We never order dessert so this is kinda like getting him a cake, but doesn’t require preheating – an extension of effort of which I was on the fence about until today when I realized I simply don’t have time to bake something.  Decision made.

As for the movie, it will be my pick.  Something girly.  Something Mark will tolerate (but not love).  27 Dresses.  Why my choice?  Well, when I leave Mark for 3 days of missing on his birthday and cause a gigantic shit storm of crying and barfing, he can choose.   Until then, this is basically my only recourse to a birthday that never was.

While I absolutely loved the idea of celebrating both of our birthdays tomorrow evening, it kinda seemed rather silly in the end.  I mean, we are going out to dinner together.  I certainly do plan on being there both mentally and physically.  I will be eating the food
(and dessert).  I am picking the movie.  All in all it will be a lovely evening with the two of us.  Together.  So isn’t that enough?  I don’t think anything we “specify” tomorrow night as “my part” is going to erase Jan. 15th – 18th.   But making Mark sit through 107 minutes of wedding talk, wedding dresses, and Katherine Heigle seems like a nice birthday gift to me….

6 Responses to “A birthday filled with nothing and everything”


  1. 1 b February 1, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    This was my fault how?
    I like that you’re celebrating his birthday, and I like your evil little twist of making him sit through a chic flick. So you! Happy Birthday Mark!

  2. 2 The mother hen February 1, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Seems like a good compromise! Happy Birthday (belated) to you!

  3. 3 milkmaid79 February 1, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Sounds like fun… 🙂 Enjoy yourself! Especially the dessert part- yummo!

  4. 4 geohde February 1, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    I hope the two of you have a really good time.

    xx

    J

  5. 5 celebrate woo-woo February 2, 2008 at 9:01 am

    That’s the kind of low-key dual celebration I had in mind. A nice evening together on his day with you getting something special, too…like the chick flick;>

  6. 6 meg February 4, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I am a bit late on this party… but I hope you had fun!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


