Food for the soul

What is one of the best ways to cure the blues?  Comfort food of course.  No really.  I tried it.  It works.

I went to dinner last night with perfect aunt.  She can’t really do anything to help me out in the “what do I do now” department, but she surely can take me to dinner and distract me.  This is, of course, why she is perfect.  We went to a place down the street from me called “Home”.  I love this place.  Its all comfort food, but done sophisticated with beautiful presentation.  Think “potato puree” rather then mashed potatoes and you’re on the right track.  Not only is everything fantastic, the waiters are unbelievably nice.  Genuine nice.  Not over the top or character like.  This isn’t a theme restaurant.  But just so welcoming and happy that you can never feel bad there.    (Am I writing a restaurant review?  Let’s move on.)

It was so nice to be out.  Eating food that hugs your insides. (I had pot roast YUM)  And talking with one of my favorite people.  We talked a bit about the break on life I’m on right now.  And possible ways to beat Mark senseless solutions. We also just talked about nothing.  It was so nice.  A quick little break where I got to be a normal fun girl.

In other news, Mark is staying at a friends house right now.  He came home yesterday and I saw him for the first time as a 33 year old.  I wonder if I looked different.  More wrinkles?   Probably.  We talked about what happened and how to fix it.  Control Z sure would be handy right about now wouldn’t it.  This relapse came out of nowhere for me, but was probably bubbling under the surface for a while.  Whatever the reason, we have to move forward.  We decided that that could only happen with a bit of a break so that Mark could do it on his own.  Fun for me right?  Break.  Break.  Where have I heard this before…

5 Responses to “Food for the soul”


  1. 1 milkmaid79 January 20, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    You made me hungry- sounds like a great place. I’m glad you and perfect aunt had some fun girl time… you deserve it kid. Sigh~ is it irony or just dumb luck that “break” has more than one meaning?

  2. 2 katarinajellybeana January 21, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Gah.

    I wish that it would be easy for you. Just once.

  3. 3 b January 21, 2008 at 9:52 am

    You’ll get through this, you’re tough…and you’ve gotten through worse. I’m glad your aunt could distract you for an evening.

  4. 4 lazyppod January 21, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Sometimes only a good meal will make you feel better. I’m glad Tia Perfecta worked her magic.
    I hope you feel better soon. Talk about a slump, huh?

  5. 5 kittenroar5 January 21, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I wish I had been there…sounds yummy. I hope you’re hanging tough. Xxoo


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


