I’m a bad mom

So….I’m sitting here in Denver…exhausted…because I was up all night with my baby dog barfing everywhere and my husband snoring extra loud.  Isn’t that how its suppose to be when you’re a mom?  Aren’t I suppose to get the added benefit of being a MOM with that lovely sleep time example?  Nope.  Not me.  I just get the shit part…or shall I say barf part?

I had to get up way too early for normal people this morning to come to Denver – a city of which I absolutely love and look forward to coming every time.  This morning it was really no problem to get out of bed at ass crack because well, I was already up.   Its always so much fun to spend the entire night up with your animal, tending to their needs while they are sick, only to have to leave them.  Ugh.  I really hate that.  Poor baby Sandy was super sick and her mommy wasn’t there for her.  What a horrible mommy I am.  I know.  I’m feelin it.

I kissed the children (Mark included) and sunk out before the sun came up and had to put my little one in the trusting hands of Mark.  Well…let’s just stick with “trusting hands” shall we?  He dropped her off at the vet (didn’t stay there???)  and they did x-rays to rule out penny consumption (umm, have I mentioned my dog will eat anything???) and charged us for some antibiotics, the x-ray, and probably that little bathroom renovation they’ve been holding out for.  All while I sit a bagillion miles away unable to cuddle my sick pup.  Ugh I suck.

The guilt I feel is overwhelming.  And this is just my dog.  Maybe there is a reason I’m not allowed to carry on the species?  Man, that sucks.

5 Responses to “I’m a bad mom”


  1. 1 katarinajellybeana December 18, 2007 at 7:00 am

    Nononononono…you’ve got it all wrong…

    The guilt you feel (and the ability to pass said guilt on to others) is what will end up making you a spectacular mom in the end.

    As for puppy, I’m sure she’s fine, but I know how much it sucks to have a sick animal you can’t help. I hope she (and you) feel better soon.

  2. 2 meg December 18, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I would be the EXACT same way about my dog….Matter of fact, today is my oldest dog’s birthday and I feel guilty leaving her to go to work on her birthday!

  3. 3 b December 18, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Poor Sandy..I hope she’s feeling better. You’re not a bad mom girl. You do have a husband..HER FATHER..right? So, you’ll have to trust that he’ll take good care of baby girl till you get back!

  4. 4 lazyppod December 18, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    I’m sorry about your pup! I hope she feels better soon.

    Denver huh? Is it snowing?

  5. 5 kittenroar5 December 18, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Me too. Poor thing. Hope you both feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


