A little nosh for the sickie

So there are still a few things that get me all caught off guard about San Francisco.  I experienced a little of this today actually.  I get all giggly inside just thinking about it sometimes.

I’m feeling a little sick.  Cold.  Sore throat.  Possible fever.  So what’s a girl to order for lunch in this situation???  Well naturally matzah ball soup.  Duh.  Nothing sounds better while sick then a giant bowl of the matzah ball soup.

Umm.  Where the hell does one get a bowl of the great Jewish soup in a place that has no idea that bagels are more then just a type of bread or what the candles mean for Hanukkah?  Yeah.  This is a tough one.  I lucked out and they had it at Whole Foods today.  Not my top choice in best matzah ball soup, but it will certainly do.

What was far funnier then not being able to find my sick soup was that nobody within a 5 miles radius of me has ever HEARD of it.  What is matzah ball soup??!?!?!?!  Really?  O the internal giggling that went on.  I mean LA is a regular food competition over the stuff.  Is Canter’s the best?  Or Jerry’s?  No.  Greenblats is my personal fav.  I could literally bath in the stuff if it wasn’t boiling.

So no understanding of anything Jewish up here.  Hilarious.  I mean I’m not even Jewish, but I absolutely knew that Haunnka ended a few days ago, I can spot a dradle, and damn if I don’t love koogle.

I guess LA is a little more ingrained in my brain then I thought.  That, and I married a New Yorker.  Even better.

5 Responses to “A little nosh for the sickie”


  1. 1 geohde December 12, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Sorry to hear the not only are you feeling sick, but that you nearly couldn’t get the soup-y cure.

    J

  2. 2 Twisted Cinderella December 12, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    I so want to try matzah ball soup! I live in Newfoundland, Canada, so who knows where I can get some. I love to try new and different foods!

  3. 3 milkmaid79 December 13, 2007 at 9:23 am

    My goodness- even in the deep south we know what matza ball soup is! Schmucks! Smaltz! Sorry, ran out of yiddish. Oy vei!

  4. 4 b December 13, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Hope you’re feeling better. Whole Foods saves the day..again!

  5. 5 kittenroar5 December 18, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    We have a great place for matza here! Come, I’ll take you!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


