The holiday underground

Another quick observation:

So for those of us that work in any form of marketing or advertising industry, there are two sets of holidays.

The first set are the set of holidays that we all celebrate with our friends and family at a designated date.  The standards.  Hanukkah being celebrated as we speak and Christmas following suit in a few weeks.  Usually rituals and traditions are involved and  almost always, food.  We look forward to them.  Certain key elements of the seasons trigger our happy thoughts about them.  We live our lives based on our decade old feelings of each and every memory and ceremony.  These are the normal, public set of holidays.

The second set are a less known set.  The backdated holidays.  These are the bumped-ahead-getting-ready-for-the-next-holiday marketing plan holidays. In this world, there is no such thing as Christmas in Dec.  If its Christmas in Dec., you’re screwed.  You’ve waited too long.  There is no way you’ll launch anything meaningful in time.  Christmas comes in August of course!!  By the time you get to Halloween, you’ve been buried up to your eyeballs in snowflakes and you’re already kinda sick of Santa.  (Leaving out any international observations to keep it simple of course)

For me, I’ve already moved on to Valentine’s day and I’m pretty sick of that as of yet.  Getting ready for a good dose of Easter, spring, Mother’s day and Grads in the coming weeks.  What?  Its weird to be celebrating a graduation before the semester even starts?  You mean spring is about flowers?  Before the snow even falls?

If you’re not careful, you can easily get confused.  It happens all the time.  I have often been out looking for candy canes only to be completely shocked/annoyed that I can’t find them…because its September.  It can take a moment to remember that.  Like, why the hell are there no tiny red hots at Walgreens right now???  O yeah.  Duh.

Today, I found myself wondering the isles of a gift shop looking for the latest trends in Love/Valentine’s messaging and having a very hard time finding them.  While getting increasingly peeved at the fact that there seemed to be no large kissing, love displays (which seem an obvious oversight to me), the gigantic trees, snowman,  Christmas music, and even the huge snowing Santa display somehow faded into obscurity.   While asking where I might find the Valentine’s cards, I was met with an odd look and a “umm you might find some romance cards over there, but we wont be putting out the large selection for Valentines until Jan 5th”  (see?  More then a month ahead folks.)

OK so I’m stupid.  Fine.  It was a momentary lapse in intelligence.  But just so I can defend my moronicness (and pretend that the gift shop worker reads my blog religiously), I felt a need to explain.

I’ve moved on from Christmas in my second set of Holidays.  Don’t mock me.  After work I’ll be all about the big St. Nick, but right now, I am on a mission for romance and I can’t be stopped!!

4 Responses to “The holiday underground”


  1. 1 geohde December 6, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    I’m such a last-minute shopper that I never have the probelm of anticipating the holiday after the upcoming one…

  2. 2 milkmaid79 December 6, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    So it’s YOUR fault there’s x-mas all over my halloween?

    You’re pretty cool, guess I’ll forgive you.

  3. 3 b December 6, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    See, that would take all the fun out of it for me. And, what’s this going to do to the Mark/Kathy offspring? Will they hunt Easter eggs on Christmas?

  4. 4 kittenroar5 December 6, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Oooh. Christmas Easter Eggs. That’s a fabu idea!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


