Its a boy! or maybe a girl! or, wait, I have no idea…

Since Mark and I are childless and not speaking to my family, we have really streamlined our gift list this holiday season.  I started really thinking about this last night as I was compiling a list for Christmas cards.  Wow.  Its small.

I’m completely OK with this.  Less people, less cards.  Less Cards, less hand cramps.  Less hand cramps, less crabby Kathy. Less crabby Kathy, happier Mark.  I could keep going, but I’m bored with this.

So what’s a girl to do with all this free time?  No giant list of gifts to purchase.  No shipping all over the universe.  Practically nothing to wrap.  Its strange.  But oooooooh SO in a good way.

We’ve decided that we just simply can’t let this monetary advance on our budget go wasted.  Trip around the world?  New car?  Entire new wardrobe for Kathy (my personal fav).  No.  We have decided to adopt an entire family this year for Christmas.  I have always wanted to do this, but I have never actually done it, nor do I have a clue how to.  But I know it can be done and I’m on a mission to learn how.  I want it all.  The kids, the parents, the dog, even the tree.  We want to provide for an entire family.  If we can’t have one of our own, at least we can be the silent partner to one deserving family in need.  I hope we can meet them, but that might be impossible I have no clue.

So now, I have a job to do….and soon gifts to buy, wrap and deliver.  I’m like a Super Santa!!

Do you think they’ll let me keep the kids?  I don’t have any and they are kinda strugglin.  Just sayin…

8 Responses to “Its a boy! or maybe a girl! or, wait, I have no idea…”


  1. 1 b December 5, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    Just as my eyes started welling up with tears while reading your post, and I’d started wondering where the hell Kathy was…..BAM!! There she is! Whew, your last line kept me from flying to San Fran and looking for your body, that the pod Kathy had obviously hidden.
    Great idea girl! Your post still made me feel a little warm/fuzzy. You already had a heart tin man!

  2. 2 milkmaid79 December 5, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    You can have MY step daughter. She whines and cries and shits alot. And only calls for food and money. She’s 21.

  3. 3 geohde December 5, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Feck. I still need to go late gift voucher purchasing, I mean christmas shopping.

    J

  4. 4 kittenroar5 December 5, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Aaah. Warm and fuzzy is right. My dad’s office does this every year and it’s awesome. We have a lot of fun buying the gifts!

  5. 6 preconceivednotions December 6, 2007 at 4:50 am

    GREAT idea! I visited an angel tree this year. Buying for a girl, age 1.

  6. 7 meg December 6, 2007 at 8:48 am

    We have done this a couple years and it is so worth it! I know you will really enjoy it!!! How sweet of you guys!

  7. 8 lazyppod December 6, 2007 at 10:25 am

    That’s very sweet of you to adpot a whole family (even the dog!).
    We do this at work and the only thing I wish is that I could see the kid’s faces when they open their gifts…

    You will make a families dream come true, this is something they will never forget.

    Pay it forward right?


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


