Hello my name is John

Some of us are really lucky and we don’t even know it.  Anyone out there reading this with a name like Yonka or Raoul?  No?  Perhaps a Pontea or a Prateek?

See, us lucky ones with easy first names, like myself, have never had to experience the tragedy that is a Starbucks drink debacle.  When your name is easy to say, its naturally easy to spell out in some form or another.  Kathy can be Cathy, Kathie, Kathee, Cathee…on and on…but it always works.  I get my drink and nobody makes a face.  When your name is just plane hard to say, it leaves you with a handicap at the buck.  So what is a name challenged person to do?  Well lie of course.

Several of my name challenged friends and coworkers do just this.  They have Starbucks pseudonyms.  Some stick to the same one all the time, some mix it up and make it fun.  Could be John one day and Bill Gates the next.  I guess the painful, therapy requirement of a bad Starbucks name is lessened with a game of sorts.

Its just an interesting observation I guess.  Makes me feel somewhat lucky.  I’ve never really liked my name, but at least I can get a latte.

But don’t even get me started on last names….mine is so difficult I don’t even bother saying it when asked…I just start spelling.  Thank God Starbucks keeps it informal.

6 Responses to “Hello my name is John”


  1. 1 geohde December 3, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    My name is unisex.

    I lose count of the times that they hold out my drink or whatever takeaway I’m ordering looking for the MAN. Why is the default gender option in life the one with testes? Mystified! Heck, they even write out the masculine name when I’m right in front of them, which is always worrying.

    Jo and NOT Jo-freaking-e!

  2. 2 milkmaid79 December 3, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    I have a former friend named Afreen, YES pronounced just like the nose spray. Then my name (err, one of them) is Aradia. Our fave starbucks got to “know” us because we would always loudly spell and annunciate and even on occassion wear a name badge just for the shear devilment of it all. Siiigh- ahhh the days!

  3. 3 kittenroar5 December 3, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    I don’t drink coffee, but an ex of mine used to leave the name Mothra when we waited for tables. Still cracks me up.

  4. 4 b December 4, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Yo! where’s today’s post?

  5. 5 milkmaid79 December 4, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    I just came here to ask the same thing B… where is it woman?!

  6. 6 babybound December 4, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Wow, I had no idea that I left such an impact on my people. Don’t you worry little ones, I have just left a new post for you to read and rant about. Calm your pretty little heads about it. Let’s all smile and move on….


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


