Monkey negotiations

I guess it was kind of mean of me to leave you all hanging about the house stuff.  I mean damn.  I told you we made an offer and then just acted all like “whatever” about it?  What a total bitch!  I know.  Even I think so.

So here it is.  We didn’t get the house.

As with all house haggling, there were offers, counter offers, timed deadlines for reply, more counters, “o crap Mr. Banker can we please have more money” phone calls.  All the normal stuff.  It went on for 3 days and basically, I’m so bored with it that I haven’t been able to blog it out.

I’m not even sad about it.  The fact of the matter is, the sellers had their brains removed long ago and are incapable of making good decisions.  I can’t be upset about losing out in a deal made with monkeys can I?  That just seems like a foolish wast of time no? I do feel sorry for the house though.  It really did deserve a lovely tree in its front window and presents for the holidays.  Poor house.

You see,  we made an offer a little under asking.  Logic would tell you that they would most likely counter somewhere in the middle of asking and our offer, we’d stress but figure something out, and settle this deal.  I’d be baking cookies in that amazing BOSCH oven by Christmas eve.  Factor in the fact there there was another offer as well, and things get a little more complicated however, both offers were the same so it really was a fair race to the finish line.

They countered our offers.  Both of them.  Adding 100k to the price of the house.  Wha?  You ask?  They seem to haggle by a different set of rules.  Rather then the “meet in the middle” strategy that the rest of us are accustomed to, they have worked out some sort of “the one who says the biggest number wins” one.  Stumpifying everyone involved – including their own Realtor –  everyone was left fending for themselves.  Mark and I decided to forgive them for this first round rookie mistake and help them out.  We went up a little in our offer hoping they would now get how it works.  The other buyers did the same.  Ironically we seem to be running this race at the exact same pace although neither of us was remotely close to the buyers sprint to the finish line.

The sellers then waited until literally the last minute to deadline (4:59 to be exact) to rebuttal with: we’re not selling our house to either of you.  Our house is worth way more then that (its not) and we will just sit on it until we get 100k over our asking price.  Hm?

So there ya have it.  The house is not sold.  In fact, its probably never going to sell when decisions on its well-being are being made by zoo animals.  We were kind of sad about it, but then again relieved to not be stretching our budget as far as they were taking us.  O well.  The perfect house will come along.

So now we sit and wait.  And wait and wait.  We’ve seen every single house on the market in SF so we have to wait for something new to pop up.  Wait wait wait.  Doesn’t this sound so fucking familiar to all of you?  Waiting?  Damn it why is everything in my life about waiting????

BTW, anyone found baby yet?  I’m exhausted.

3 Responses to “Monkey negotiations”


  1. 1 b December 1, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Sounds like they really didn’t want to sell the house to me..like they changed their minds.

  2. 2 milkmaid79 December 1, 2007 at 10:03 am

    That is exactly why I got out of real estate and mortgage lending! I have a stick to beat the dorks with if you need it—

    Oh, and I’m glad B made me read your blog too! You rock girlie!!!

  3. 3 kittenroar5 December 3, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Glad that part of my life is over!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


