The times they are a changin…

Thanksgiving.  My favorite time of the year.  Its truly a time where I thrive and my smile is usually more of a permagrin then one of a forced, painful nature.  I absolutely love Thanksgiving.

This year, Mark and I find ourselves in a very different scenario then we have grown accustomed.  We have moved to a whole new place, and (ironically) live within a modest drive from my family.  Though we never spend Thanksgiving with them, it does feel weird not to this year.  Weird, but nice.

So what will we be doing this glutenous holiday?  Well, on paper, the same thing we usually do.  I will bond like a teenager with my kitchen – a place that functions as my bff every 3rd Thursday in November.  Mark will watch football – an activity that tops his list of Thanksgiving requirements.  We are having friends over – something no Thanksgiving can live without. And we’ll basically have a lovely and over indulgent day.  Everyone will do exactly what they want to be doing and we’ll all end the day with tryptophan filled bellies and a long, cozy nap.  No drama.  No crying.  No tense anger.  The only shit talking that will be going on will be between me and my bff kitchen about the state of that silly bird in the oven.  “My that bird looks like it needs to lay off the tanning salon…”

Doesn’t sound all that different on the surface, yet this year feels very different to me.  We’re in San Francisco (the most obvious of changes), our guests are all new friends to us, our regular clan will not be here (a funky bunch that I miss dearly), the weather outside is different, leaves really do fall off the trees into piles everywhere, there are no santa anas so its not a disgusting 90 degrees outside, I’m not in my kitchen, and even weirder, I will not have the obligatory family phone call.  So weird.

I haven’t started to think about the table yet, and I’ve done nothing about decor, place cards, flowers, a finalized menu, umm…what will I be wearing???  I’ve basically done nothing.  I glanced over at my shopping list (started a week ago) and it says:  bird, stuffing stuff….  yeah it ends right there.  This is not at all normal for Miss Kathy: Queen of the perfect Thanksgiving.

Cooking the bird and all her trimmings is something I could do in my sleep.  Not worried.  But this year is still so  very different.   I’m not really depressed about it.  No its not sad.  Its just odd.  I am still excited to spend the day in a kitchen.  I still can’t wait to feed everyone.  And the sounds of football from the next room will warm my innards.  Its all good.  I can’t put my finger on it, but I think this year might be a bit of a turning point.  The first major holiday that Mark and I really do get to spend as our own family without my family’s negative influences.  We have no guilt about it.  Our family tree has sprouted.  We’re no longer a tiny leaf hanging off a much bigger (but diseased) tree.  Its exciting.  I can’t wait to see my tree grow.  Even if it only has 1 branch right now with no baby buds emerging, a tree is still a tree no matter how you look at it.

O…maybe we can decorate it like Charlie Brown for Christmas….more on this to come…

4 Responses to “The times they are a changin…”


  1. 1 geohde November 17, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    I’d just get take-out, but I’m no master chef. 🙂

    Enjoy your thanksgiving,

    j

  2. 2 Hilary (The Trying Game) November 17, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    I love to feel a “turning point” coming…

    Canadian Thanksgiving is in October and I so wish it was this week because I could really use some comfort food! Please spare no details about your big meal because I’ll be living vicariously through you!!

    I hope this Thanksgiving is your best ever. Don’t look at me like that. I just might be!!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. 3 b November 17, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    You’re going to have a great Turkey day! How is the house hunting?

  4. 4 kittenroar5 November 18, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Sounds like a fabulous Thanksgiving. A HEALTHY Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


