Baby purgatory

OK.  Pre approved and ready to go.  We’re meeting with our Realtor this afternoon to discuss our options.  I’m excited, yet nervous at the same time.  We’ll see how it goes…

One thing I am feeling really torn on is this:

Do we buy the house we need right now (sans baby) with the intention to upgrade to family fare if/when that becomes needed?  Or do we buy the family dwelling of our dreams and have an empty room for me to cry in from time to time?  Both have good and bad.  Both make sense.

For all of you that are thinking – totally buy it once.  Moving sucks!!, I’m not at all opposed to the upgrade.  Unlike most people in the world, I move a LOT.  When we purchase this house, it will be my 37th move.  6 carry the 8 divide the 7…and you have more then one move a year (on average).  I have moving down to a science and the daunting task of packing and unpacking is lost on me.

So if we remove this giant obstacle that would accompany most of you, we are left with…well still two options.

The house we need right now:  2 bed + den, 2 bath.  Small yard would be nice (but not required).  Needs to be polished and upgraded for mua.  Gorgeous kitchen required (I love to cook).  And great for entertaining.

The house we need for a family: 3 bed, 2 bath.  Better yard.  2 car garage (believe it or not, this is not standard in the city).  Family friendly (bigger) layout.  Good neighborhood.

They may not sound all that different, but to me they are.  Do I want to live in a family friendly neighborhood and be sucker punched daily with that kind of reminder?  Or do I want to have a newborn in an urban setting that shoos away all signs of infantdom?   Its tough.  This is a city.  Cities are very segregated when it comes to their tolerance of children.  I don’t fit in either place.  This is my baby purgatory.

So this is our dilemma for today.  I guess we’ll have to look at both?  See if there is a compromise?  Ugh I need a nap first…

7 Responses to “Baby purgatory”


  1. 1 katarinajellybeana November 10, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    I say go with the house that suits you now. Your kid won’t notice the crack dealers or day time hookers until she/he is much older. By then you’ll be in the perfect position to move.

    Bonus points: More money for massages, chocolate, wine and shoes.

  2. 2 b November 10, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Can’t fault Mrs. Jellybeana’s logic.

  3. 3 geohde November 10, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    I live in a teeny-tiny single bedroom apartment. I always figured that living somewhere so inconvenient would get me pregnant….

    No luck so far, I’d better get that two seater car.

    J

  4. 4 Ashley November 11, 2007 at 12:49 am

    When the right house shows up you will know if its the one you want … Gut instinct will tell you ..

  5. 5 Hilary (The Trying Game) November 11, 2007 at 9:14 am

    I’d say stay in the city. You won’t need that full extra bedroom right away when the baby comes. You’ll make it work. But I need to recuse myself, I am a big city girl and I looooove living in the city. We wouldn’t consider moving even if we had a brood of 5. But then again, I live in a very family-friendly city.

    City kids are just cooler kids anyway, dontcha think?

    Good luck with finding a place!

  6. 6 b November 11, 2007 at 10:20 am

    I agree with the above too. Any place can be kid friendly, and the places that advertise as “kid friendly” are usually horrific!

  7. 7 kittenroar5 November 11, 2007 at 10:20 am

    um, the b above should be me, k. 🙂


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


