What did you say?

Happy Friday, Ladies!!

Let’s see, let’s see… something positive…

This is starting to get more difficult.  I think that’s the point though, right?  I should be trying to remember the good stuff.  So here goes:

I am a really great listener.

People often find themselves telling me all kinds of stuff they probably shouldn’t.  I am privy to some pretty great secrets, gossip, rumors, and sensitive information.  I can’t even begin to count the amount of “I can’t believe I’m telling you this…” and the “why is it so easy to tell you stuff”‘s I get.  They may not understand, but I certainly do.

See, there are actually two reasons it is so darn easy to tell me things.

1) I am not a very judgmental person by nature.  Being that I turn everything in my own life into a joke – and share these jokes with the world – people feel a sense of security in telling me something.  Most people that know me know they haven’t ever heard “OMG did you know…” and “I just got some HUGE gossip about…” uttered from my lips so they feel pretty confident I won’t start that habit with their news.  If someone I know has done something questionable, that’s OK with me.  I have done plenty of that myself.  Tell me anything you want.  You get no judgement here!!  I don’t exactly have a gigantic reaction to anything because at this point in my life, I’ve pretty much heard it all.  Just because someone makes different choices then I do doesn’t mean their looking for me to change them.  I just laugh at them and find something funny about it.  Right to their face.  Its far easier that way.

2) I KEEP secrets.  If someone tells me something personal, its PERSONAL.  Spreading the word only shows that you do judge.  It means you need to talk about it to show how you feel about something.   Its the uncomfortable nature of the news that can cause some people to flap their gums about it.  But what they are doing is, in fact, solidifying their standings as a gossiper.  It will not take long for people to catch on and stop telling you anything.  I love gossip, but really as a form of entertainment, not an action I like to take part in.  Because of this, I think people feel safe knowing their secrets really are safe with me. Anything they need to talk about is going to be something we will work through together.  Alone.  Without the outside influences of the people they didn’t feel comfortable talking to.

Being a great listener is something I really like about myself.  I love that people tell me things.  And I really do enjoy helping them work through issues, problems, hardships, etc.  Most of the time, people just need to talk out loud about something, to a person that isn’t telling them what to do about it, and isn’t giving them that look of “I can’t believe you did that”.  They can usually come up with their own solutions if you let them. For me – the light hearted jokes I will say to your face about it just make the whole problem easier to swallow and lighten the mood.  It puts the issue into perspective.  If you tell me you slept with a man you just met, well its not like you just murdered a box full of puppies is it?  Did anyone die?  Well then let’s keep it in perspective!  (BTW, Tra is well aware of this blog and all posts about her.  I’m not actually proving myself completely hypocritical about rumor spreading ironically within the same post I just claimed not to do so.  Everyone knows Tra is a whore. – Love you Tra!!)

So here you have it.  I listen.  Now.  Tell me.  What do you like about yourselves.  I really do want to know.  I’ve asked before, but apparently you are all emo, self haters that like absolutely nothing?  Where’s the love people??  Don’t make me stand on the stage alone!!

4 Responses to “What did you say?”


  1. 1 b November 9, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I’m good with old people, they really like me. I’m not sure why, but I seem to put them at ease and make them laugh. I’ve never met an old lady who didn’t like me. The old men..they ask me out on dates..it’s weird.

  2. 2 A November 9, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    That’s why you’re my best friend on this coast, by far.

  3. 3 meg November 10, 2007 at 7:56 am

    You make me want to tell you a secret 🙂

  4. 4 kittenroar5 November 11, 2007 at 10:24 am

    One good thing about me: I’ve the patience of Job with adolescents. I don’t understand them, but I do realize they are mercurial, and honor them as such.

    So, I’ve got this secret…


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


