Top 15 things that frustrate me about San Francisco:

Let me start by saying that I really do love living here, however, we all have things that irk us and these are mine:

15. Votivo candles. These are my favorite damn it and I have yet to find them anywhere up here. Can get them everywhere in LA. Most notably Fred Segal (hey another thing I don’t get up here!!). But San Fran has none!

14. There is no Pinkberry. Yeah yeah I know. Its trendy and popular for now and you can get similar yogurt from rip off places, but its not the same. I absolutely love the stuff and I can’t have it anymore.

13. Trader Joes sucks up here – why is it so different? Produce dies in a minute, flowers suck ass. Why why why!!! Employees are just as friendly though so it keeps me comin.

12. No Coffee Bean – OK there is coffee bean, but not enough of them. 2 don’t count.

11. Hair salons – yes there are a ton of good ones, but the stylists aren’t even close to as good as my stylist in LA and charge more because…well they can, its San Francisco.

10. San Francisco radio – is it really like this in the rest of the country? Not even a dozen choices?!?!?! And the choices we do have are embarrassing.

9. People are entirely too wrapped up in their career of choice. What the hell do I mean? Well, I’m far more used to the “this is just until my screenplay gets picked up” type of attitude. While that bugged the shit out of me in LA, its just downright creepy that I haven’t met a single person with an agent, writing partner, royalties from something, acting coach or headshots. Its freakin me out.

8. MUNI. Why is there BART & MUNI? Why are they different? Why can’t it be like every other metropolitan city in the world that has ONE transportation system (OK two if you count buses, but I don’t do buses so therefore, I don’t) Can’t they just be the same so people could even out? Too many people on MUNI and none on BART.

7. The beach is not where you go to die Seriously. The last time we took Sandy to the beach we navigated a dead seal, 2 dead birds and a years supply of dog crap. From at least a dozen dogs.

6. Parking. nuf said.

5. Its fucking freezing. And any of you from places that see snow can just shut your pie hole. I’m from LA. I’m freezing if it hits 50 and that’s not even a joke. Where in the San Francisco manual is the part that talks about the 30’s (again, holes shut)!!??

4. Hills. Who’s bright idea was it to start a giant city on the equivalent of an earth size field of chicken pox? I mean there is land all around San Francisco that is flat. Land that I’m sure was available. What brilliant mind said “No. Not there. I prefer to give my ass a workout every single time I leave my front door”?

3. Train lanes. As far as I know, there are no other cities that have dedicated/not dedicated/dedicated again lanes for the trains within a 1/2 block stretch. Market street is harder to navigate then Toys R Us with a 4 year old. Trust me here. I’ve done both.

2. Fenceless dog parks. I mean really??? REALLY??? Dogs + park + fence = fun play time of running. Dogs + park – fence = well. Death. WTF San Francisco?!?!?

and the #1:

House prices. That’s right folks. As we move into this new faze, we are forced to deal with this issue. How? By blogging it out of course! We didn’t come from a place that’s known for its bargains so it should be no surprise to us that houses are stupid here. You’d think we’d come prepared. I guess we kind of did, but still. We had a beautiful 3 bedroom house with a huge yard and a pool in LA. And what gets me goin up here? What gets me all excited when I find it? The new home of my dreams? O that would be the 3 bedroom condo with the matchstick of a yard and 1 parking spot. 1 shared parking spot. All this for the bargain basement price of more then twice what we paid for our house in LA. Fun fun.

I left my heart in LA sometimes…

5 Responses to “Top 15 things that frustrate me about San Francisco:”


  1. 1 b November 6, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    I think you’re having a sucktacular week. It’s probably because you work late! : ) BTW, I tried to get her to come wait on me while I was in the tub…NO DICE! : (

  2. 2 Hilary (The Trying Game) November 6, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Hmmm interesting post. I’ve never been to San Francisco, although I’m told I was conceived there. I think I might do a similar post about Vancouver. Yup that’s right – I’m from the Great White North. I’m afraid you would last about 10 seconds here before succumbing to frost bite and hypothermia! You should see how I bundled up to go outside today.

  3. 3 Kristen November 6, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I have never been to San Francisco, and I hear it is a great place to visit but it is supremely expensive so I’m not sure about living there. Here in Baltimore, it is getting expensive with all the D.C. transplants but still not THAT crazy.

    Parking sucks in these parts too. Don’t they realize people have more than one car nowadays? WTF?!

  4. 4 kittenroar5 November 6, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Um. You live in the coolest city of all time. I’d give up a kidney for a spot in that town! And what’s a pinkberry?

  5. 5 lameo December 12, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Move back! Please!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


