You write a blog?

Yes.  I write a blog.  I started writing a blog because I needed an outlet for my pain.  I had too many horrible things going on in my life – most notably a miscarriage that knocked the wind out of me – and no way to get the bad thoughts out.  It was either a blog or cutting and I don’t scar well.

But why do we blog?  How in the world does this help?  Some might say its a very self centered form of attention seeking behavior.  Others feel its a wanna be writers way of pretending they have talent.  There may be some truth to both of these theories, but so what?  So.  What.

Does it really matter?  Do the reasons need to make sense to you – outside world?  No.  They need to make sense to me.  They need to help me.  I.  Blog.  For.  Me.

Sure I may be funny.  And I may have an odd sense of the world that gives some strange insight for others to grasp on to.  I might even help someone else from time to time with a smile or a giggle.  Its that sense of giving or helping that helps me.  Its puts my thoughts into perspective.  Its getting the bad stuff out so that I no longer have to deal with it anymore.  Its out there.  For you, world.    You see/read it if you choose to.  And I no longer have to be burdened with it.  People comment (I love those by the way) and give me their insight.  They mentally take a little piece of it to deal with away from me.  I return the favor by reading their blogs and commenting when I can to suck a bit of their crap back.  Its a bit of funny money but it works for us.  You and me.

So I blog.  And it helps.  You help.   Well….by you I mean the commenters.  (Hint hint…)

13 Responses to “You write a blog?”


  1. 1 dayzofrain October 31, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Yeah I understand it. I had to start because I was just keeping it all inside–alienated my hubby, couldn’t motivate myself to do much of anything because my thoughts were just poison. So now.. i just ramble on and feel better.

    and I must say– i have grown addicted to comment notifications.

    and… (I promise this is the last one) I get a giggle out of some of your posts too 😀

  2. 2 katarinajellybeana November 1, 2007 at 6:43 am

    I’m a bit of a comment whore myself. I get irrationally excited when someone new comes out of the woodwork.

    At the same time, the blog is for me. I WANT to remember all this crap. I never, ever, ever want to forget how I felt during all of this. I never want to accidentally slip up and say something crappy like “There’s always adoption” or “Just relax.” I need to hash it out like this. It helps me organize my thoughts and have the ugly discussions I need to have. It makes me brave and strong because I can separate my reality from my hormonal fiction.

    When I started, I had no idea that there were so many more out there. Brilliant, funny women who chose to do what I was doing. Not the ra-ra support team of message boards, but women who needed to bare their souls for themselves and who light up like a Christmas tree when someone says “yes, exactly! you aren’t the only one!”

    I know you write it for you, but SkinnyButt, I really love to read your blog.

  3. 3 meg November 1, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I get it! And I blog because it helps me to get some of the stuff out and plus one day I want to go back and remember all of it.

    I do enjoy reading your blog! You are a much more exciting, interesting writer than I….

  4. 4 Tracy November 1, 2007 at 9:57 am

    I like to pretend I’m a good writer. 🙂

    I’ve found a community through blogging…one that understands what my real life friends cannot (I hate to call them that, because why isn’t cyber-world “real life”?).

    Anyway, love your blog…and congrats on the pants. I’m envious.

  5. 5 geohde November 1, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    I write a blog because I’m a whining attention seeking comment hog. Sometimes I’m funny, maybe 🙂

    J

  6. 7 B November 1, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I just like interacting with other muppets.

  7. 8 Mommy Someday November 1, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I get it, too! I read something the other day that totally supports what you said and how I feel. Blogging is more like a virtual conversation. Most people (especially the infertile community) blog for the CONVERSATION – the back and forth, the support, as well as the documentation of our lives. Good luck to you!

  8. 9 kittenroar5 November 1, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I write so that I don’t think the crazy thoughts alone. I like to vomit and share the joy of my insanity, although lately I’ve been thinking of shutting the old blog down for the same reason. I think I’m spewing just a little too much. And I’ll always comment because, though new to my blog world, you are in my top of muppets.

  9. 10 Hilary November 1, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    If you only knew how much reading your blog helps ME! I look forward to your posts every day and honestly, knowing that we’re dealing with similar issues together and reading how you get through your days is such comfort to me. You might think you blog for you, but actually you blog for ME!!!! (It IS all about me after all)

    Seriously though, I loves me yer blog.

  10. 11 babybound November 1, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Thank you ladies! Who knew flat out begging for comments would work? I really do love reading comments as they put a smile on my face. When other people have something to say about what I have said…and take the time to actually write it to me, I feel that’s pretty darn special. You’re all like the little audience inside my mind and I love all of you for that. Thank you for your lovely comments!!


  1. 1 Let me explain « B a b y B o u n d Trackback on December 7, 2007 at 11:14 am
  2. 2 Why do people blog?, a crawler finds out « amitGupta Trackback on May 8, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


