Ding ding! Round 10,000…

I am wearing a pair of pants today that I have not worn for 2 years.  How do I know this?  Do I keep a log of my outfit inventory, checking items in an out?  No of course not.  (But damn if I don’t love the idea….hmm)

I know this because I wore them on Halloween 2 years ago.  Last time.  No, they have absolutely nothing to do with Halloween.  Plain, black, low rise slacks.  I suppose if you want to be picky, they are black therefor rendering them fit for the Halloween style guide.  But 89% of my trouser inventory is, in fact, black.  Its kind of my uniform of choice really.  I aint never seen a pare of black pants I didn’t like.

Kathy why have you not worn this particular pair for so long?  Were you fighting?

Well no.  Technically not fighting.  They simply did not fit anymore.  You see, it was just before Halloween 2005 that we began our lovely journey through the land of infertility.  Medications started.  Surgeries were had by all (well really just me).  Hormones began a’ ragin.  And most importantly, bloating and weight gain ensued.  It was only a matter of days before a few items in my reputure began to tighten.  My plain, black, low rise slacks being one of them rendering them useless.  They were ceremoniously banished to the back of my closet.  Never to be seen again.  I’m pretty sure all the other black pants mocked them when the door was closed.  Pretty sure of it.

When I woke up this morning, I felt like taking a stroll down memory lane visiting Halloweens of years past.  Halloween from 2 years ago was among the thoughts to flip through my mind.  I very cautiously felt the need to try these pants on as we’ve been on our stupid break, and well, I went down a size.   I crept quietly to the closet as to not spook the pants into instant shrinkage.  Gently unclipped them from their trouser hanger and very gingerly slipped them up my legs.  One leg (fitting…).  Two legs (Yes I actually do put my pants on just like you).  Holy mother of God they fit!!  Fitting and look fantastic.  Who’s mocking who now, pants in the closet!!

Is this the end of an era?  The closure to a time of horrible sadness?  The sign from above that we have completed our time of reflection (break) and we are strong enough to continue?  Did the zipping of these pants ring the bell that sends us into the ring again?

Or is it strictly the side effect of my body finally ridding itself of all the injectables and normalizing?

Since I’m a selfish bitch, I want it to be both.  Both it is.

4 Responses to “Ding ding! Round 10,000…”


  1. 1 Hilary October 31, 2007 at 11:31 am

    FANTASTIC! Dontcha just love it when that happens?

    I certainly hope you parade your skinny black pants all about town on this fine Halloween holiday!

  2. 2 katarinajellybeana October 31, 2007 at 11:43 am

    WOOOHOO!

    Another SkinnyButt Victory!!!

    And yes. For today you can have both…So say we all.

  3. 3 geohde October 31, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    🙂

    Haloween is a holiday that doesn’t happen here, so I’m always intrigued to see grown adults dressed in costume 🙂

    COngrats on the skinny-trou

    J

  4. 4 kittenroar5 October 31, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I feel so fat! Congrats, girl! A skinny muppet you’ll be!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


