My pretty little princess

For those of us that don’t have actual real children with 2 arms, 2 legs, a mouth that speaks some form of human language, and an arsenal of melt downs that can clear out an entire line at the post office, we have dogs.  Dogs certainly cannot replace the real deal, but they sure can pass the time.  Do I feel guilty for over compensating with my pooch?  No not really.  Anyone who mocks me, step a little closer and say hello to my little friend, bravelle.

Yesterday was the 17th annual Halloween dog parade in San Francisco.  Now, normally I would find dressing up my canine out of the question.  I will freely admit to celebrating her birthday, “speaking” for her, and cuddling with her on the couch, I do not cross that line into dogie booties, little matching outfits, and travel bags.  But common, folks, its Halloween!!!  So Mark and I sucked it up and got her a costume.  A pretty little pink princess one of course.
We went to the parade and waited until the very last second to whip out her costume (knowing this would last about .00000001 seconds before entering her stomach cavity for slow a digestion).  I’m not sure if it was the running around in the park while we ate lunch or the walk up the hill to the parade, but you will never guess how this costume went down.  Brilliantly.  Wha?

dscn0894.jpgdscn0893.jpg

Is it possible for a dog to just lapse out of her obnoxiously hyper puppy stage for about an hour and a half or so, only to reboot right back into the dreaded “hard” period once more?  It happened I tell ya.  It. Happened.

Sandy seemed to love her costume.  She loved being around all the hot dogs, pirates, cow dogs, superman, and alligators.  There were at least 150 dogs dressed up.  She didn’t even eat their costumes.  It was almost ridiculous. Overall, the parade was a huge success. So cute.

Do I feel a tiny little bit of shame and guilt for dressing up my dog in a pretty little pink princess outfit?   I’ll never tell…

4 Responses to “My pretty little princess”


  1. 1 katarinajellybeana October 29, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Ok, that makes me smile so much that I’m not even feeling the nausea. Nicely done, Muppet. Nicely done.

    I would love to take wonderpuppy. Maybe dressed up as Darth Vader?

  2. 2 Hilary October 29, 2007 at 8:11 am

    How freakin cute is that little princess???? I am LOVIN’ that!

  3. 3 B October 29, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Okay, that’s the cutest shit ever! Sounds like a blast.

  4. 4 kittenroar5 October 30, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    I’m so, so jealous! Your girl is gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


