Who cares? I don’t.

What a funny little saying.  My friend Ang and her friends are fond of it and I have to say, yeah its a pretty good one  when you need to lighten the mood.  Its even better if said in a rather bitchy voice circa AbFab.

Let’s break it down.

Who Cares? – I mean is this really a question?  Like person using this saying is really asking for a breakdown of the percentage of people that care vs. not care?  Yeah no.  I don’t think the statistical data on any possible topic in the world is readily available in the hands of anyone out there this might be directed to.  Even if you do have an iPhone.  No, the beginning half of this statement is strictly to add some pizazz to it.  A flowering for effect if you will.

I don’t. – This is the part that’s most silly.  The person uttering this statement is claiming not to care when actually, that is exactly what they do.  They care.  They care so much that they have to somehow say the words “I don’t” out loud in the hopes that it will become true.  Maybe those two little words will come floating out of their mouth and sprinkle magical pixy dust all over them.  All their caring will then float away to form a large, heart shaped cloud in the sky…..where was I?  O yeah.  I don’t.  This is nothing short of absolutely backwards.  A valiant attempt to convince others of your complacency, but ineffective at best.

So how do I feel about my infertility, miscarriage, family, etc.?  Who cares?  I don’t.

1 Response to “Who cares? I don’t.”


  1. 1 Ang October 24, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    It does help when you say it, which is why always we do. Granted, it might only apply for about ten seconds, with lingering happiness when you think about having said it, but even that’s definitely something when things are BAD. And if said in the proper, campy way, it’s very comforting. It’s a great way to end a serious conversation with much understanding between friends. Welcome to the Klub, Kath!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


