Positive Friday

OK even though I’m not really feeling all that positive, I’m hoping that posting yet another shallow thing that I like about myself will lighten the mood.  Maybe I should try this every Friday.  Hmm…something to think about.

Last week it was my hair and this week, I’ll share this.  I like that I am funny.

Is it wrong to admit that you know you’re funny?  Probably.  It sure does feel weird to admit that.  Almost makes me feel on the spot to say something really funny right now.  We all know that kind of thing doesn’t just happen.  Even for outlandishly hilarious people like me.

I am pretty sure that I am funny to a lot of people.  How do I know this?  Because I cause a lot of laughter when I’m around and I never back down from trying to lighten a tense mood or situation with a joke (and not of the “a Rabi, a rabbit and a bear walked into a bar…” sort.  Please.  Give me more credit).  At work, I know when to back off and be professional, but I think for the most part, people like having meetings with me.  I mean after all…sometimes people get far too wrapped up in their jobs and forget that work can be fun.  I have a pretty fast thought process so ad libbing an on the spot rebuttal to someones banter comes pretty naturally – a trait found in all funny people I’m sure.  I’m not all that brain smart and I am certainly willing to laugh at myself so I think that helps.

It goes without saying that being funny helps with infertility.  If you can’t laugh at the pure ridiculousness of shooting needles in your ass in a back alley – behind the bar you’re hanging out in – with your 30 something friends after their hard days at a professional career of their choice – and NOT having blue lips or a vagina that’s for sale…well then you are far more serious then I.  Sometimes the only way to get through it is to step back and put life into perspective – a perspective that can only be measured to utterly hilarious levels on the chart.

Don’t get me wrong.  Not everything about infertility is funny.  Of course not.  But finding what is funny helps to lighten the load a bit.  And I like that I am able to still….after 1000+ days of TTC and a miscarriage…make people laugh.  Make me laugh.

…although my giggle bone must be on the fritz today because this post reeks of not funny.  O well.  Ahh the irony in that!!

9 Responses to “Positive Friday”


  1. 1 Hilary October 19, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    You ARE funny! Which is one of the reasons I so look forward to reading your posts each day… You’re a great writer and you should know that you inspire a lot of my writing.

    I think it’s goshdarnfantastic that you’re highlighting the good stuff about you. We, as women, don’t do that enough. I also think your idea about doing it every Friday is stellar. It’s so easy to forget who we are in the process of all this TTCing. Good for you for reminding us.

    Have an excellent weekend my dear.

  2. 2 Hilary October 19, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    You ARE funny! Which is one of the reasons I so look forward to reading your posts each day. You are actually a huge inspiration for my wriring too, you should know that.

    Good for you for highlighting the good stuff about yourself. We, as women, don’t do that enough. I think your idea of making it a weekly thing is fantastic. It’s so important to remember who we are in the context of all this TTCing. It’s so easy to forget sometimes. Thank you for reminding us.

    Have a great weekend my dear!

  3. 3 Hilary October 19, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Sorry, my comment didn’t look like it went through the first time, so I commented again. And now I see that it really did go through so you get two fairly identical comments from me….sorry about that!

    Someday I will master this whole blogging thing…

    I feel like a dork ha ha

  4. 4 babybound October 19, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Ahhh now there is no negativity on positive Friday. 🙂 I’m ok with two comments instead of one because I get to feel cooler. This does not make you a dork in my eye. It makes you cooler then most because you wanted to tell me so badly you said it twice!!

    You have a fantastic weekend as well….

  5. 5 mgrube12 October 19, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I have just recently found your blog and I too think you are very funny. My partner happens to be the funnier of the two of us… but that is one of the things I like about her is that she makes me laugh.

    Thanks for your writing and I look forward to continuing reading it!

  6. 6 tra October 19, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    i happen to think you are hilarious – but then again i think i’m hilarious… i can always count on you to lighten my day :)!!! could that be why we’ve entered eachothers lives???? they do say that people come into eachothers lives for a reason – hmmm…. I’ll be lucy to your ethel.

  7. 7 katarinajellybeana October 19, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    I recently helped a friend set up an eharmony account. She kept saying how “funny” she was and how often she cracks her friends up. Uh…yeah…Not so much, Jane…not so much.

    You, however, are fucking HI-LARIOUS. When you don’t have me crying, that is.

  8. 8 geohde October 19, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    It’s great to be funny.

    I often look over at my husband and remark that infertility is just hilareeeeeoooouuuus.

    He thinks I’m mad.

    J

  9. 9 kittenroar5 October 19, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    I’ll vouch for you. You are funny. And, you are special funny. You can sweet funny, just funny, shockingly funny or bitter funny. I’m sure there are more, but my muppet vocabulary fails me.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


