Just another heifer like me…

I think too much. We all know this. Its not a surprise. Can we all just get over that for right now?

Saturday morning I went to Perfect Aunt’s house to help Perfect Uncle with a project. He specifically asked me for help because well, I happen to be an expert. Fine. I am more then happy to help the Perfects. I mean after all, they are my favorite and pretty much the only family I have left after the email.

The Perfects own a longhorn cattle ranch in Texas and Uncle Perfect spends significant time there. He loves his ranch. He loves everything about it. From the absolute solitude of the middle of nowhere to the completely disgusting, unidentifiable grime that seeps its way into every orifice while tending to the ranch. He. Loves. It. (anyone picking up on my non-love for the ranch? Anyone?)

This happened to me at the ranch:

myfoot.jpg

RIP my little left ankle.  R.I.P.

Anyway…Raising cattle is pretty much the very last thing on the list of things Kathy needs to learn before she dies. Yup. There it is. Number 80,887,001. Dead last. Hmm…I guess I must have missed the memo that moved it up to top 10 standing, but well, here I am learning a whole lot about raising cattle. Specifically Longhorns. (Its part of my project) and I am actually interested. Its a pretty cool process and there is far more to it then watching them eat grass and stink. Cattle actually have more to their minds then grass grass grass poop grass grass….

This lead in is far too long….let’s get to the point…

Uncle Perfect and I were discussing his longhorns in great detail. Looking at pictures of each, getting the history on each and every one. Uncle P recently tried an “experiment” with one of his cattle by doing basically IVF on her – transferring an embryo from a different Cow into her. The experiment was not a success, however. The baby died during birth. Not sure why, but I felt extremely sad for the Cow that gave birth to a dead baby. Uncle Perfect then went on to tell me that the mother was very upset. When he found the baby, he took it away and buried it. The mother cow stayed at the spot the baby lay dead for days. Clearly she knew what had happened and was feeling the pain. Pain that us infertiles understand in ways that seem unfathomable by most. I really felt for this Longhorn. I asked my uncle if he felt that cattle understand what is happening with this type of thing. He said that he does think so, but on different levels. One of his other Cows lost her baby at 7 months (Cows gestational period is 9 months just like us Heifers). This cow didn’t seem as upset about it. It was almost as if she wasn’t aware of what had happened. (or possibly did not understand) I find this absolutely fascinating. That our feelings towards one another and the feelings we have towards our offspring has nothing to do with the culture, environment, or even species we are. Pain is pain. Loss is loss. Infertility. Is. Just. Painful.

Poor cows. I feel bad for them. They don’t even have the advantage of speech. Or developed emotions. Or a blog to get the bad stuff out. They just have grass, horribly picky clicks, and they all have to share the same bull. No pun intended…..o please this is the BEST use of a pun….I guess the grass is always greener…

Sidenote: I really do know nothing about cattle and have probably horribly misrepresented the ranch, misused the word cow or cattle, and basically sound like an idiot. I’m ok with that. Remember…you read this on the internet so obviously its absolutely true.

3 Responses to “Just another heifer like me…”


  1. 1 katarinajellybeana October 16, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Interesting…but not unlikely. I hear stories about other mammals (cats, dogs) mourning the loss of their young.

    Makes me want to skip out on the filet mignon I have planned for dinner tonight.

  2. 2 geohde October 16, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    I can’t get past the rather spectacularly shattered ankle.

    Man…..OUCH!

    J

  3. 3 kittenroar5 October 16, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I second the ouch.

    There are other cool things in Texas and I own not one head or cattle. Or a ranch.


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


