I endorse breaks

Need a really fantastic reason to take a break? Well I think I have finally found one for you…

I went shopping yesterday. I haven’t really just gone out on a mission to buy new clothes in a while but with the weather changing and my closet full of beachwear from Southern Cali, I just seemed like the logical thing to do. It was a beautiful day, the Blue Angles were practicing for a weekend performance in the city overhead, and Union Square was bustling. I started at The Gap. They have never let me down so I thought I’d start with a nice safe option before venturing out to more risky fare. I wondered through the store, became a walking shopping cart buried under a mountain of possibilities and headed toward the fitting room.

It was in this fitting room that my wildest dreams came true.  For several years now, I have been “fluffy”, shall we say, from  IVF meds, PCOS, and my depression cocktail (1 part wine, 2 parts vodka, 1,535,356,667 parts ice cream).  Trying on clothes has lost all vigor for me.  I usually have to force myself into everything and convince myself that the store’s sizes run really small.  It’s totally not me.  Its the store.  That’s it.  I have been fairly consistent with my size, but it goes from tight to really tight to tight again.

Yesterday.  I.  Had.  To.  Go.  Down.  A.  Size.

No meds  +  ridiculous break  +  mental reboot  =  weight loss  (!!)

I can’t say I love the break.  But with all this head changing and ass shrinkin, I guess it can stick around for a bit.

PS.  Umm….I think it would be unfair to not point out that there is a negative aspect.  Yeah.  I also spent far more then my body weight on these “new sizes”.  Like, 5 X’s.  Ouch.

7 Responses to “I endorse breaks”


  1. 1 katarinajellybeana October 5, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Congratulations SkinnyButt!

  2. 2 babybound October 5, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Well there it is folks. The new nickname that has sent me into a head growing whirlwind. KJB will soon be inaugurated into the position of my new best friend. Invitations will be sent soon. It will be a black tie affair.

  3. 3 katarinajellybeana October 5, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Thank you, thank you…

    I’d like to thank everyone who helped get me here. My dumbass therapist, my junior year creative writing teacher, my insanely fertile friends…it was your help, interference and hinderance that drove me to become a “blogger” (air quotes).

    But most of all, I’d like to thank my underperforming ovaries. Without their lackidazical approach to procreation, I would never have been introduced to SkinnyButt. You have ruined my life in such a positive way.

  4. 4 anne nahm October 5, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Ha! Turns out, your butt is the silver lining! Yay skinny butt!

  5. 5 kittenroar5 October 7, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I’m on a one month break. Maybe I can drop a 1/8 of a size? Congrats to you!


  1. 1 Ding ding! Round 10,000… « B a b y B o u n d Trackback on October 31, 2007 at 10:24 am
  2. 2 Infertility Jeans « B a b y B o u n d Trackback on January 28, 2008 at 9:31 am

Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


