Details make me happy

I have a friend visiting me for the weekend. I absolutely love visitors. And even better, I love visitors that I love to be with!! Love love love. I just had to get a few more of those out. I’m done now.  Love.  OK last one.

While making my guest comfortable is a top priority, I do like to fill in with small details that make it special and show that I appreciate their visit.  The OCD in me requires that these details be perfect, a tad on the outdoing of one’s self, and reminiscent of a Martha Stewart “Good Thing”.

  • A tower of fresh towels, tied with a stain ribbon & laced with a personal note of gratitude – check
  • A hat box full of shampoos, soaps, lotions, razors, toothbrushes, tissues, teas and treats (mostly stolen from Hotel visits of my own). – check
  • Fresh linens that smell lovely with extra blankets & a variety of pillows to choose from – check
  • A robe so soft it is worthy of a newborn’s skin neatly folded and placed on the luggage rack. – check
  • plenty of hangers and wardrobe bags in the closet for them to hang anything they want – check
  • Fresh lemon scented water at the bedside. – check
  • Fresh flowers in a color suited for the time of year (Rosy pink and orange for today) – check

You know, standard stuff.
I’m like Monica from “Friends”?  Please.  Its not like this is the first time we’ve been compared.   I liked Monica and I’m totally OK with that.  But today it gets me thinking (its that damn break)…..

It has been said to me on numerous occasions “just wait until you have kids, you will change”. Will I? Holy crap I hope not. This is who I am.  Its not like putting in a little effort takes a lot of time or energy for me. In fact it took me less then 15 minutes to get everything ready.  Is that really too much effort?  It may be for some but I have perfected my guest room because I wanted to.  Its not like I gauf at anyone when I stay in a sleeping bag on the floor (although my mother did make me use the dog’s bath towel once – unwashed – and I wont let her live that one down).

I don’t want to change.  I like that I’m crazy.  I want to have kids and still be crazy.  Adjust if I must, but I can’t just stop writing personal notes and pouring water.  That’s just kooky talk.

OK I think I’m done with this rant of nonsense.  I didn’t really have a point.  I just needed to think that one out.  You have all been so helpful with this.  For those of you that listened, I have a tower of towels and a mint on a pillow waiting for you…..

4 Responses to “Details make me happy”


  1. 1 Orodemniades October 6, 2007 at 11:49 am

    I can understand not wanting to change. However. All those little details are probably going to add a lot, a lot, a lot of stress when you have that child…don’t drive yourself crazy trying to be perfect!

  2. 2 geohde October 6, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    There’s nohin’ wrong with liking details. I like to have things just so, and I accept that this means I have to do it myself. I see no problem with this 🙂

  3. 3 A October 8, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Um, maybe I should have just stayed with you for a while instead of moving! Not one of my friends has ever done any of that shit for me… and sadly, I don’t bother to for most of them, because I know they wouldn’t appreciate it or return the favor. Bravo to you, as always, for doing things as they should be done.


  1. 1 Sniff Sniff « B a b y B o u n d Trackback on December 13, 2007 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


