Between the sheets

This morning I was making our bed as I do every morning. Monster always jumps through the sheets and plays with them as they float back down to the mattress. Sandy always jumps everywhere on the bed because she knows I’m trying to make it and don’t want her on it. Its always a big spectacle. This morning, however, it was different. Not for the children animals but for me. I am home today with not a whole lot that I am obligated to do so there really is no rush to finish this task. Any other day I would have put on my horse blinders before getting out of bed so that I could trudge through life from one task to the next. I have a pretty one track mind when it comes to these things. Order. Neatness. Organization. The only way I am able to function in the world is knowing that my house life is in complete calm.

This morning Sandy must have taken my blinders into her crate with her because I didn’t have them on. While the circus was performing on my bed, I stopped making it. I lay down. I cuddled with them and we rested for about 20 minutes. It was beautiful. Sandy immediately calmed down and snuggled right into my torso and wrapped her legs around my belly. Monster initially jumped off the bed, but shortly came back and positioned herself behind my back. We lay there in the quiet. The bed was messy and comfortable.
Ya know what? Nobody died. Nothing happened. The world did not shift causing massive destruction. I felt happy. I felt like a mommy. My babies were with me. They knew what I needed and they embraced it. No, animals can’t really be a suitable replacement for the real thing, but nobody will be able to convince me that they don’t understand and love you as their caretaker. They went from being insane to snuggling only because its what I needed

I think I’ll have to try taking those blinders off a little more often. But for now….I have a bed to make.

3 Responses to “Between the sheets”


  1. 1 geohde October 3, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    I like to get the bed made but my main inhibitor is usually the spouse who refuses to get out of it!

    I am glad that you found a moment of balance making yours. 🙂

    J

  2. 2 Kristen October 3, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I have to admit I am a bit of a slob. I don’t think DH and I ever make our bed. But then again, I do like it messy and comfortable too.

    Its important to take some time out of your day to just relax. You can always get back to the routine later 🙂

  3. 3 Ang October 3, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    This is why we are friends.

    1) We are both totally OCD, and there is stability in that. No unmade bed, ever!
    2) Pets always make us feel better. Mine sure is during this shitty-ass week.
    3) You kick so much ass.

    Yay, US!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


