Uneventful evening with parentals.

It is with a heavy heart that I say this but, my mother-dinner did not result in any emotional disaster.  Maybe its because of my years of experience.  Maybe its because I managed to ply her with ridiculous amounts of wine before we even entered the dining room.  Maybe its because she invited my favorite aunt to attend as well.  Its impossible to know for sure, but dinner wasn’t horrible.  In fact, there wasn’t even a twinge of baby waves in the air.    I’d like to think it was the food (I did spend most of the afternoon preparing a lovely fall menu) but I really think most of the accoutrement needs to be sent my aunt’s way.  Thank God she was here.  I turned into a caterer which is exactly where I needed to be.

I think I need to require that auntie perfect attend all future shin digs…

The only hilarious slip up of the evening came from yours truly.  I was this <-> close to uttering the following words:  “we’re saving these skateboards for our baby’s room”.  Yeah.  Me.  Idiot.  Where the hell did this even come from?  A little unknown planet named Chardonnay that’s where.  I think it was aunt perfect that somehow sucked the words out of my mouth and buried them in her purse.   Man she’s perfect.

1 Response to “Uneventful evening with parentals.”


  1. 1 kittenroar5 September 23, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Go perfect aunt! I’m glad it wasn’t miserable!


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


