And the winner is: not me.

I had an interesting conversation last night with a very good friend of mine, Ang. She’s a real person not one of my friends that live in my laptop (of which I love dearly), but consist of only words and imaginary Muppet heads.  Ang and I have not known each other that long but she is one of those people that just click.  Its like I had a divit missing in the back of my right knee and Ang just snapped right in it.  Now I can walk around like a real person with my Ang buckled in tightly.

Enough about her.  She reads this so we don’t need to swell up her head.  Some of us would like to enjoy the San Francisco sun day.  Anyway…

Ang has a friend in NY that writes a fairly popular blog.  Her blog is very witty and funny and has some beautiful photography.  Our convo did not center around her blog but how it changed the writer.  Ang’s friend is now so wrapped up in pleasing her laptop Muppet’s that she transformed her alive friends into plot makers.  Conversations are regularly prompted to gather content, dinner parties are arranged to gather imagery and so on.  Ang’s friend has become a Muppet herself.  No longer able to function as a real person or be a real friend.

Don’t take any of that the wrong way.  I do not know this person and I am sure that she still has some lovely qualities.  What I found so interesting about it was that she has become so obsessed with pleasing the Muppet’s and enveloped in her daily posts that any constructive criticism from people that care about her is met with an evil force field deflecting it back to the unlucky sod that attempted it.  A simple typo comment sends her into a tizzy large enough to pick up Dorothy and fling her back to Kansas.  What a strain on a friendship!

Ang wanted to point out to me that I need to use spell-check more often.  Bah!  Well thank you for pointing out the obvious, Ang.  hahaha  Wow what a laugh riot that was.  Ang was actually reluctant to say it (but did anyway because she’s lodged in the back of my right knee) and back peddled with a round of “I care about you” and “I’m just saying it because I care”.  To me, my spelling is nothing short of horrific and always has been.  Its not at all something that I’m proud of, but let’s face it, we all have flaws.  If mine has to be spelling, I’m ok with it.  Throw in the empty wasteland of my internal baby carriage and I must be downright gorgeous to make up for this list of flaws.  Ang didn’t hurt my feelings in the slightest.  She is 100% right. In fact, I respect it when people have criticisms for me.  That is how you grow and learn.  (even if it sometimes stings)

I don’t know if Ang’s friend has changed whilst blogging or if this is how she is, but I find it very interesting.  Can blogging change you?  Do the Muppet’s slowly grow into more important members of your social setting that the line drawn between skin cells and blue fur get blurred?  I’d like to think not.  Muppet’s can certainly shed their felt to reveal a skin tone if you get close enough and at times the Muppet’s can be far more comforting and supportive.  Its a balance.  But the balance needs to be tested and continue to thrive so that one does not outweigh the other.

So onward!!  I can’t spell!!  If I entered a spelling bee I would come in dead last.  I also cannot do a pull-up, eat fish, wear knee high boots, run 5 miles (possibly even 1), resist brownies, write, read long novels, pick up my dog, or probably a trillion other things I don’t even know.  If you ever find yourself lucky to observe a failed attempt at one not listed above, by all means feel invited to point it out.  Blog on happy bloggers, but do not ever imagine a Muppet with pinkish skin tone.

5 Responses to “And the winner is: not me.”


  1. 1 Orodemniades September 21, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    Your spelling is fine.

    I think everyone goes through the ‘oh god, i have nothing to post about’ thing, but ya get over it.

  2. 2 geohde September 21, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Spell checker is built for us mere mortals 😉

  3. 3 kittenroar5 September 21, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    I can’t spell either and quite frequently I think of erasing my blog and disassociating from all talking heads. Who knows who they really are, anyhow. I hope my felt is green though.

  4. 4 dayzofrain September 21, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    You know technically even if you come in dead last in the actual spelling bee… you’d still be first (not to mention it would have freed up the rest of your day)

    Imagine those poor losers in the middle! They didn’t win and they weren’t the first to go…what do they have to say?!!

    Always lookin on the bright side I am!!! ;D


  1. 1 What is wrong with you? « B a b y B o u n d Trackback on September 21, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


