What does aunt flo mean?

So as you can see, I’m catching up on my lovely google friends today and while the last term was rather disturbing (and happens to be the most popular way to get to BabyBound as of late) this one just makes me giggle.

Dear floless,

Thank you for sending in your question.  It isn’t often that I get asked anything of such importance so I will certainly do my best to answer with as much detailed knowledge and professionalism as possible.

Aunt flo:  Aunt flo is your period.  Well, its someone’s period as I am not aware of your sexual makeup or age. Seeing as the topic of womanly business tends to scare off men, boys, children, all animal forms within earshot, we awesome ladies have come up with all kinds of ways to creep it into conversation under the radar.  Aunt flo, our little friend, crimson tide, monthlies, on the rag, big red, miss dot, the dreaded dragon, up on blocks, bloody mary, royal flood, the curse, TOM (time of the month), and on and on.

While Flo could be that weird aunt you have that lives far away and sends you $5 cash in a card for your birthday every year, its also pretty descriptive for what is going on down in your nether regions on a somewhat regular basis if you’re a chick.

I, for one, get visits from this little bitch on a far to frequent basis these days after years and years of neglect.  Its like she’s making up for lost time and I’d rather we just cut our losses and move on.

I hope this helps, my sadly un urbanly educated friend.  If anyone would like to add more detail, feel free.

Your friend,

BabyBound

5 Responses to “What does aunt flo mean?”


  1. 1 goldfish5 August 15, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Dear babybound, I had an exchange student friend in high school who called it the red army. Just thought I’d add another searchable term for your blog.

  2. 2 Angie August 15, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Here are some terms that come to mind:

    Bloody Hose
    Rare Steak
    The Painters and Decorators (as in we can’t have sex because they are here)
    On the Blink

    Feel free to incorporate as appropriate (or as inappropriate).

    Angie

    http://www.moresugarthanspice.com

  3. 3 Geohde August 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    :)

    I needed that laugh.

    xx

    J

  4. 4 mkwewer August 18, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Being from San Diego orginally, I have always liked, “surfing the crimson wave…”

  5. 5 Pirsey April 22, 2009 at 12:04 am

    After reading the article, I just feel that I really need more information on the topic. Can you suggest some resources please?


Leave a Reply

I'm just a girl with a husband, a dog, a cat, and a bum uterus. Add to Technorati Favorites

These seem to be pretty popular

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

